Tuesday, October 9, 2012

1536 Menlo Place - Connors House

1536 Menlo Place
Parts of Lots 8 and 9 of Joel McCarty's Subdivision.

Elizabeth S. Howell purchased this property from Joel McCarty for $1,000 on January 5, 1909. W.W. McNeille witnessed the transfer.

Howell sold the property to John Connors on September 28, 1909 for $5,500.

The Connors House was designed by architects Howell and Thomas. It was built in 1910.(Columbus Dispatch, March 13, 1910, p.13)

Howell & Thomas was an architectural partnership formed by Carl Eugene Howell and James William Thomas, Sr. in Columbus, Ohio and later Cleveland, Ohio, that designed many residences for wealthy clients between 1908 and 1930. The partners were classmates at University of Pennsylvania and first established their practice in Columbus. They also designed the Broad Street Apartments, 880-886 East Broad Street.

John L. Connors, circa 1905
John Leo Anthony Connors was born March 15, 1882 in Evansville, Indiana, son of Maurice Supple and Mary Ellen Kane Connors. He married Hortense Emilie Filton on October 16, 1907 in Marion County, Indiana. Hortense was born July 3, 1882 in New Harmony, Indiana, daughter of Frank Owen and Emilie Margaret Ryberre Filton. They had three daughters: Virginia Hortense (January 16, 1909-1984), Juliet M. (1911) and Rosemary E. (1915).

In 1900 Connors father, Maurice, was General Superintendent of the Hocking Valley Railway Company and the Connors lived at 1109 Franklin Avenue in Columbus.

A paragraph in the Iron Trade Review of September 9, 1909 states that "F.E. Symons has been appointed western sales manager of the Ralston Steel Car Co., succeeding J.L. Connors, who has been transferred to the Columbus office." Connors was Sales Manager for Ralston.

The 1910 Census shows the Connors living in their new home. They have a servant, Wilde Costello, a 20-year-old West Virginia native.

In October 1915 the Connors moved to 125 Parkwood Avenue. They had a servant, Malinda Cunningham, a 20-year-old African-American from Alabama. As early as 1912 Connors sold railway and industrial supplies. The company offices were on the 8th floor of 8 East Broad Street. 

Hortense died in Winnetka, Illinois on September 14, 1922 of uterine cancer.

Connors married Genevieve Burnham about 1924. Genevieve was born October 25, 1891 in Chicago, Illinois, daughter of Edward Burnham. Genevieve was a graduate of Smith College. She died in Mansfield on July 11, 1949 and  is buried at the family mausoleum at St. Joseph's Cemetery in Columbus.

In 1929 the Connors lived at 73 Parkwood Avenue. In 1929 and 1930 John was Assistant General Manager of The Jeffrey Manufacturing Company. The 1930 Census lists their residence as the Garden Apartments on East Broad Street, though the 1930 City Directory shows them at 104 Virginia Lee Road, a home they occupied through 1935.

In 1942 the Connors lived in Mansfield, Ohio and John was associated with the Galion Iron Works and Manufacturing Company.

John's obituary from the St. Petersburg Times, March 4, 1954, "John Leo Connors, retired vice president and general manager of the Galion Iron Works and Manufacturing Co., Galion, Ohio, died yesterday afternoon at his home, 8200 Boca Ciega Drive, Gulf Beaches.

"Mr. Connors would have been 72 (on) March 15. He was born in Evansville, Ind. and moved to St. Petersburg two years ago from Hartford, Conn.

"He was graduated from Purdue University in 1905 with a degree in chemical engineering. For six years he was assistant to the president of Ralston Steel Co., Columbus, Ohio, and then entered the business for himself as president of the John L. Connors, Inc.

"Later he moved to Chicago as president of the Morgan Gardner Electric Co., from 1919 to 1929 and then became associated with the Galion Iron Works and Manufacturing Co. He retired in 1950.

"Mr. Connors was a member of the University of Chicago Club and St. John's Catholic Church, St. Petersburg Beach.

"Surviving are his widow, Barbara Connors; three daughters, Mrs. Virginia Connors (William Norris) Seery, Hartford; Mrs. Juliet Connors (Joseph Egan) Ryan, Columbus, Ohio, and Sister Angela Marie, Dominican Order, Pittsburgh, and four sisters, Miss Mildred Connors, Mrs. Gertrude Drugan, Miss Martha Connors and Mrs. Agatha Murphy, all of Columbus and eight grandchildren."

John Hislop, circa 1920
The Connors sold the house on October 27, 1915 to J. H. Hislop.

John Hughes Hislop was born in Columbus on October 10, 1883, son of Herbert R. and Catherine Hughes Hislop. He married Cathrine Gertrude Crawford at Broad Street Presbyterian Church on June 17, 1916. The wedding reception was held at the Crawford home 995 East Broad Street. Cathrine was born April 30, 1893 in DuBois, Pennsylvania, daughter of Frederick Wilson and Elizabeth Dreibelbis Crawford.

Hislop was a dealer in real estate. He is listed in the 1918 City Directory as living at 1536 Menlo Place. His father Herbert is also in real estate and is living at 55 Woodland Avenue.

Hislop and his wife traveled to England and France, departing on the Adriatic on September 17, 1920. John was to settle an estate he inherited in England and then they were traveling to France for a vacation. The Adriatic was the largest and most luxurious of the "Big Four" of the White Star Line. Hislop's neighbor F. L. Hughes of 1571 Hawthorne vouched for him on his passport application.

Cathrine Hislop, circa 1920
Hislop served on the Dennison University Board of Trustees and at one time owned the Bryn Maur estate in Newark, Ohio. Cathrine's father Frederick W. Crawford was one of the original incorporators of the Ohio Fuel Gas Co.

In 1927 the Hislops are living at 411 North Parkview in Bexley, with John's father Herbert.

On March 10, 1926, Arthur M. and Mary W. Crumrine bought the house.

Arthur Milton Crumrine was born January 29, 1886 in Madison, Wisconsin, son of Arthur Irving and Frances Marie Conahan Crumrine. He married Mary S. Weinland in Columbus on November 18, 1916. Mary was born May 21, 1884 in Westerville, Ohio, daughter of Jacob A and Margaret E. Shaw Weinland. They had one son, Arthur, Jr. (1925).

On their marriage license application, Arthur's occupation is listed as newspaper writer. Crumrine is listed in the 1924 City Directory as president of The Arthur M. Crumrine Co. (advertising agents) and The Amsco Realty Company.

Mary and Arthur divorced at some time before 1940 and Mary and their son Arthur, Jr. moved to 100 West Park Avenue in Westerville. Mary was a librarian at Otterbein College. Mary died in April 1959 and is buried at Otterbein Cemetery.

Sometime after 1942, Arthur married Ann Raymer who worked as a stenographer (Diehl Office Equipment Co., 1923) and secretary. Starting in 1935 she worked and lived at the Franklin County Sanatorium as a patient helper.

Crumrine lived at 214 Oak Street in 1948. He incorporated Arthur Crumrine & Co., Inc. on December 6, 1948. In 1951 he was proprietor of F.P. Orr Company.

Crumrine died at home at 213 Oak Street of colon cancer on March 16, 1951. He is buried at St. Joseph's Cemetery.

The Crumrines lost the house due to a foreclosure judgement in the amount of $7,900.19 in favor of the Buckeye State Building and Loan Company. The property was sold on September 7, 1928 to John P. King for $8,600.00 and a Sheriff''s Deed was issued.

John P. King sold the house on April 2, 1929 to Frederick A. Schlens.

Frederick A. Schlens was born in Maryland about 1903. He married Mary C. Mary was born in Pennsylvania July 2, 1902. They had three children: Mary C. (born 1926 in West Virginia), Lee Ann (1928) and Frederick (1931).

Fred was an agent for passenger bus lines. In 1929 he worked for a company called Colonial Stages, which later became Interstate Transit, Inc. and then Colonial Atlantic-Pacific Stages (CAPS). Colonial Stages had offices at 39-41 East Rich Street in 1931. This company went out of business in the Great Depression. Fred then went to work for another bus line, Red Star Way, Inc.

In 1935 the Schlens lived in West Virginia. In 1940 they were living in Baltimore, Maryland.

Frederick and Mary died in Volusia County, Florida. Fred in April 1967 and Mary on March 8, 1970.

The Schlens sold the house back to King on April 13, 1931 and they moved to 801 Fairwood Avenue.

Dana J. Demorest, circa 1944
King sold the house on September 12, 1932 to Professor Dana J. Demorest.

Dana James Demorest was born August 24, 1882 in Marysville, Ohio, son of Louis B. Demorest.
He married Margaret Wiltsee on June 21, 1908. They had a daughter Margaret Frances (August 5, 1913).

Dana's father Louis was a school teacher and was Superintendent of Marysville City Schools for twenty-five years, from about 1900 to 1925.

Radio Digest, February 6, 1926
Demorest was graduated from OhioState University in chemical engineering in 1907. He became a chemist for the U.S. Bureau of Mines; then for the Union Pacific Railroad. In 1908 he became assistant professor of metallurgy at Ohio State University and strating in 1913 has been professor of metallurgy there. In WWI he was commanding officer, Toxic Gas Plant, Edgewood Arsenal.

Margaret died August 7, 1913, probably from complications of childbirth.

Demorest died in Columbus on June 30, 1958.

April 13, 1945 James F. and Martha M. Hunter

James Franklin Hunter was born about 1904 in Pennsylvania, son of Harry H. and Inez Hunter. He married Martha M. between 1930 and 1940. Martha was born about 1908 in Pennsylvania.

The 1940 Census for Meadville, Pennsylvania shows James and Martha living with James' mother Inez. James is working as a traveling insurance salesman. (James' father had also been an insurance salesman).

In 1946 Hunter was an insurance agent for the New Amsterdam Casualty Company.

On May 22, 1948 the Jenkins bought the house from the Hunters.

Carl G. Jenkins was born about January 2, 1888 in London, Ohio, son of William Paul and Mamie E. Brown Jenkins. He married Hazel G.Braulette in Greene County on October 8, 1914. Hazel was born about September 17, 1893 in Jamestown, Ohio, daughter or Walter and Lucy Brock Braulette. They had two sons: Carl S. (1916) and Marion B. (1919).

Jenkins graduated from Wilberforce University Commercial Department in 1908. He attended Bryant and Stratton Business College 1909-10. He was Secretary to the President of Wilberforce from 1910-1917 and Secretary starting in 1917. A 1922 biographical sketch in the 1922 Wilberforce University annual says, "Mr. Jenkins is a man of singular courage and ability; a friend, worthy to be trusted; and is well liked by all the students. He has helped many worthy students finish school, and has endeared himself into the hearts of a great number."

In 1924 the Jenkins lived at 180 North 20th Street. Carl was working as a special statistician in the Ohio Secretary of State's office. In 1930 the Jenkins lived in Wilberforce, where Carl was the business manager at the University.

Carl C. Jenkins, circa 1922
A front page story in the Indianapolis Recorder of May 19, 1934 is headlined "Students In Riot At Wilberforce -Wilberforce Scene of Riot; Trustees Arouse Students" the article reports that Carl Jenkins, business manager of state departments was appointed acting superintendent. The students said that Jenkins was ill-equipped to hold up the standards set by his predecessor, Professor Howard Gregg.

A building at Central State University is named for Jenkins. The Central State website says, "Jenkins Technology Education Building Named in memory of Carl C. Jenkins, who served as superintendent of the Combined Normal and Industrial Department, Jenkins Hall houses the Department of Manufacturing and Industrial Engineering. An earlier building constructed in 1941 was also named for Jenkins. It housed the Physical Education Department, Army ROTC, and the College Bookstore and Grill. At the time of its destruction in 1974, the original Jenkins Hall housed the audio-visual department, the campus radio station, the bookstore, and office of the CSU Federal Credit Union."

Carl S. Jenkins
An undated newspaper clipping about the Jenkins' son, Carl S. says, "First Liet. Jenkins Carl S. Jenkins, who recently spent a few days visiting his parents, Superintendent and Mrs Carl C. Jenkins here, is en route to Fort Huachuca, Ariz. for further assignment. A graduate of Wilberforce university in 1937, Lieutenant Jenkins studied at Howard university, is a graduate of Meharry Medical school, and formerly interned the Homer G Phillips hospital, St. Louis Mo. He was inducted into the Army in September, 1943, and assigned to Carlisle Barracks, Pa., where he received basic training. He was later sent to to Fort Huachuca, and on May 1, 1944, to Walter Reed Government hospital, where he received special training in tropical diseases. Mrs. Jenkins, the former Helen Mathis, is a graduate of Tennessee State college. A native of Greenville, Ky., she is accompanying her husband to Arizona."

The Jenkins returned to Columbus from Wilberforce in late 1948, purchasing this house. In 1954 the Jenkins lived at 2074 Greenway Avenue N.

On October 2, 1953 the Jenkins sold the house to the Coopers.

Earl Clifton Cooper was born December 31, 1891 in Albany, Ohio, son of James C. and Angie Flowers Cooper. Earl married Ida Mae Smith in Athens County on September 19, 1911. Ida was born February 19, 1891 in Athens, daughter of James and Julia Logan Smith. They had a daughter, Earline May (April 27, 1912-February 23, 1997).

In 1917 the Coopers lived at 1504 Harvard Avenue and Earl worked as a chauffeur for Louis P. Hoster. Hoster lived at 253 Woodland Avenue.

By 1920 the Coopers had returned to Athens where Earl was a chauffeur for a private family.

Earl won a $1.00 prize in a March 1926 contest in Popular Mechanics magazine. The listing in the May 1926 issue of the magazine says, "Earl C. Cooper, Athens, Ohio (American Technical Society)". The American Technical Society published materials for the American School of Correspondence, now ATP, which published vocational-type training materials.

An unidentified newspaper article from March 28, 1928 says, The Athens County "Music Club held their meeting at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Earl Cooper, 33 Park Place. The Music Club was for the advancement of the members' musical abilities and to study the lives of great musicians. Mrs. Earl Cooper, President."

A story from the Multicultural Genealogical Center, "A Significant Presence" states that Ida Mae was the daughter of James an Julia Qualls Smith. She graduated from Athens High School and attended Ohio University. She was the organist at Mt. Zion Baptist Church for 50 years. Her husband was Dr. Biddle's chauffeur and Ida was their cook and housekeeper. They lived at one time in the Biddle's carriage house.

29 Park Place, Athens, Ohio. Currently the home of the President of Ohio University. The house was built in 1899 for C.L. Poston, a wealthy coal mine owner and business executive. During the early 1920's the mansion became the home of Dr. and Mrs. Thomas Biddle. (Mrs. Biddle was the daughter of C.L. Poston.) 
In 1930 and 1940 the Coopers lived in Athens, Ohio where Earl was working as a chauffeur and butler and Ida was a maid for Dr. Thomas R. Biddle, a corporate official of a coal company who lived at 29 Park Place. In 1930 the Coopers lived at 33 Park Place and in 1940 they lived at 29-1/2 Park Place.

Earl and Ida both died in Athens, Ida on June 16, 1964 and Earl on October 12, 1966.

Earline married Alvin William Tolbert. Alvin was born July 5, 1909 in Ohio, son of William and Nina Tolbert. They had two daughters, Patricia (1938) and Phyllis Jean (1939).

In 1940 Earline and Alvin were living with Alvin's parents at 368 St. Clair Avenue. Alvin was listed as a decorator, working in retail flooring. In 1949 they lived at 534 Mt. Vernon Avenue and Alvin was a janitor at the State Department Building. In 1953 they still lived at 534 Mt. Vernon Avenue and in both 1953 and 1954 Alvin is working at a porter at Columbus Die Tool & Machine. The 1954 and 1957 City Directory shows their home address at 1536 Menlo Place. In 1959 they lived at 1516 Bryden Road and Alvin was employed at the same place. Alvin died August 26, 1975 in Columbus.

On November 30, 1955 the Coopers sold the house to Charles C. and Dorothy T. Wilson.

Dorothy T. Wilson was born September 30, 1927. The 1953 and 1954 City Directories shows the Wilsons living at 841 Clay Court. Charles is employed by North American Aviation.

R. Hogans,
Central High School 1954.
On September 27, 1967, Roger E. and Gloria B. Hogans bought the house.

Roger Hogans was born October 28, 1937 in Ohio, son of Samuel Hogans.

Gloria Stene Bowen Hogans was born April 26, 1933 in Mississippi  She died in Columbus on October 16, 1993. (mother's maiden Moore) She was a schoolteacher.

On July 19, 1984 the house was transferred solely to Gloria. In February 2001 the property was divided among her heirs/children: Altrece M., Terryl K., and Roderick L. Hogans.

1577 Greenway Avenue - Behmer House

1577 Greenway Avenue in 2010
Lot 69 of Smith's Woodland Park Addition

Lot 69 was purchased by The City Realty Company from the Smiths before 1904. City Realty sold the lot to S. Optimus Holder in 1907.

Samuel Optimus Holder was born October 18, 1882 in Harrison, Tennessee (or October 8, 1882 in Chatanooga), son of John F. and Elizabeth Parham Holder. He married Adelaide "Addie" Behmer on March 13, 1904 in Franklin County. Adelaide was born May 12, 1883 in Shepard, Ohio, daughter of John Frederick and Mary Emily Chandler Behmer.

In the 1906 City Directory, Samuel is listed as a salesman. The Holders are living at 383 Oakland Avenue. In 1907 they are living at 285 Taylor Avenue. In 1908 Samuel is a manager of Columbus Buckeye Tool and Supply Company. The March 11, 1909 issue of The Iron Age (a hardware trade publication) reports, "A new supply company for Columbus, Ohio, is the Holder & Latham Supply Company, which has offices in the McCune Building, that city. A complete line of contractors' and manufacturers' supplies will be handled. The organizers of the company are S.O. Holder and Alva Latham, who were formerly manager and salesman, respectively, for Columbus Buckeye Tool & Supply Company." The McCune Block was located at 51 North High Street, the headquarters of McCune, Lonnis & Griswold, hardware merchants. It was demolished in 1915. Jonas McCune had a very large mansion at 120 Woodland Avenue.

The Holders later lived at 162 and then 42 South Burgess Avenue. Samuel died February 19, 1968 in Upper Arlington. Adelaide died at age 99 on February 15, 1982.

The Holders sold the lot to Adelaide's father, John Behmer in 1908.

John Frederick Behmer was born September 27, 1859 in Edinburgh, Scotland, son of Frank and Jessie Thomas(Thompson) Behmer. He married Mary Emily Chandler June 15, 1882. Mary was born July 20, 1860 in Groveport, Ohio, daughter of William and Adelaide Eliza Price/Bruce Chandler. They had six children: Adelaide L. (May 12, 1883), Frederick A. (June 19, 1885-November 1972), William Byron (August 7, 1889-March 16, 1891), Charles C. (1892-March 1, 1982), Helen Louise (November 11, 1893), John Chandler (January 8, 1897-February 27, 1935).

Behmer emigrated to the US about 1864. John is listed in the 1891-2 City Directories as a contractor. In 1891 he is on Gibbard Avenue, east of Cleveland Avenue. 1892 is more specific, on the south side of Gibbard, two houses east of Ninth Avenue. John F. Behmer is listed in the 1900-1913 City Directories as a carpenter. His death certificate lists his occupation as retired contracting carpenter with his specific industry being brick work. He lived near Cumberland and Sylvia Roads, this home does not seem to have been numbered until 1913 when it was listed as 679 Cumberland.

Behmer was more than likely the builder of this brick house  between 1908 and 1912, and while Behmer probably never lived in it, his family ties to the property are indisputable. His daughter Helen did later live in the house for 28 years.

Mary died September 1, 1919. John married three more times after the death of Mary.

On June 19, 1920 he married the widow Nellie Monkhouse. Nellie was born September 6, 1851 in Zanesville, Ohio, daughter of William Lee. Her mother's maiden name was Drumm.

On June 4, 1922 he married the divorced Sarah (nee Grant) Needles. Sarah had been living at 150 S. Princeton Avenue. She was born in Perry County, Ohio on February 11, 1889. He was 62 and she was 33 years old.

On May 29, 1929 he married the widow Permelia Leonhart Hawxhurst. Permelia was born March 2, 1867 in Muskingum County, Ohio, daughter of Frederick and Martha Austin Leonhart. She was living at 199-1/2 Kelton Avenue. On this marriage certificate Permelia's occupation is listed as a nurse.

The 1931 City Directory shows the Behmers living at 395 South Champion Avenue with John working at his own shoe repair business at 366 South Champion.

John's son, John Chandler Behmer was a farmer. He took his own life and hung himself on February 27, 1935 on a hill at the back of his home in Laurelville, Hocking County. It was believed that ill health was the reason.

Frederick A. Behmer was an early Grandview Heights resident and local photographer. The Grandview Heights Marble Cliff Historical Society website says, "Fred A. Behmer started working as a photographer in 1901 when he was 16 years old, working for Baker Art Gallery and later the Columbus Star, a weekly tabloid published by the Wolfe family. His famous work includes photos of Company B of the Ohio National Guard deployed at Camp Willis in what is now Upper Arlington. For over fifty years, Behmer was the staff photographer for Jeffery Manufacturing charged with documenting the company's activities and the service of Jeffrey employees. Behmer was the first photographer to record OSU football away games for publication in the next morning's paper. According to his granddaughter Pat Behmer Preble, he dried the photo plates on a potbelly stove on the return train trip from the game so that they would be ready for the newspaper."

Fred Behmer (left) and an unidentified friend dressed for the annual Grandview Heights Field Day celebration in 1916.


John died at home on April 18, 1938 at his home on South Champion Avenue. He is buried at Greenlawn Cemetery.

The Behmers sold the property October 16, 1912 to John M. Marshall.

John Mitchell Marshall was born April 10, 1868 in Darby Township, Pickaway County, Ohio, son of Edwin M. and Catherine Burchnell Marshall. Marshall had also been a carpenter, and probably was an associate of Behmer at one time. both had worked as car builders. Marshall lived at 223 North 20th Street in 1909 and 362 Wilson Avenue in 1914 and 1915. During this time he was a partner at Marshall Brothers, a real estate and rental firm. Marshall died January 31, 1935 at his home in Bexley.

Marshall sold the property to the Levans in 1913.

Harry Joseph Levans was born May 22, 1880 in Cincinnati, Ohio, son of Joseph and Jennie Bryant Levans. He married Carrie M. Kroninger on April 6, 1904 in Franklin County. Carrie was born March 14, 1882 in Shepard, Ohio, daughter of George and Elizabeth Boanmiller Kroninger.

In the 1920 Census the Levans are living at 1577 and Harry is a steam railroad conductor. The 1921 report of the Interstate Commerce Commission shows that Harry was paid $3,000 for 9 months and 16 days of work as an inspector.

Before 1930 the Levans moved to Dayton, Ohio where they stayed at least through the 1940s. In 1942 Harry was working for the Interstate Commerce Commission. At the time of his death in 1966, Harry and Carrie were living in Logan, Ohio.

Harry died September 9, 1966 in Columbus. Carrie died in Gahanna on January 15, 1971.

On January 3, 1921 the Levans sold the property to Helen Louise Anderson, daughter of the builder, John F. Behmer.

Dr. Carl A. Anderson was born in Columbus on October 11, 1892, son of Swedish parents, August and Mary Anna Boyer Anderson. He married Helen Louise Behmer in Franklin County on September 21, 1916. Helen was born November 11, 1893 in Columbus, daughter of John Franklin and Mary Emily Chandler Behmer.

In the 1920 Census, the Andersons are living at 1413 Hildreth Avenue and the widowed John Behmer is living with them. Anderson is a dentist.

Helen died in Hamilton, Ohio on April 6, 1987.

Anderson sold the house to the Kings on April 30, 1949. The Kings were the first African-American owners of the house.

Roy B. King was born in Kentucky in 1924, son of James and Octavia King. He married Lillian before 1953.

The 1940 Census shows Roy living with his parents in Berea, Kentucky.

The Kings are listed in the 1953 City Directory at 1577. Roy's occupation is listed as USA, which means he was probably in the military.

The Kings have been hard to trace, but they might be the Roy and Lillian Price King who died in Los Angeles, both in 2009. The 1963 sale deed lists their residence as California. This Roy did three stints in the Army (1945-46, 1947-48, and 1949-1953). Perhaps Roy was stationed at Fort Hayes, as their purchase of the house coincides with his enlistment. This Roy was born June 18, 1923 and he died in Los Angeles on December 9, 2009. Lillian was born January 28, 1922 and died in Los Angeles on April 26, 2009.

The Kings sold the house on October 22, 1963 to Bennett Dickerson.

Dickerson was a real estate agent and furniture dealer. Dickerson sold the house a month later, on November 27, 1963 to the Hardens.

Fred Harden was born about February 28, 1897 in Georgia. He married Essie Mae who was born about 1899 in Georgia.

F.E. Avery's Packard Service Station
at 1199 Franklin Avenue.
In 1945 the Hardens were boarders at 1446 Mt. Vernon Avenue. Fred was working as a driver. In 1953 the Hardens lived at 523 Trevitt. Fred was working for the F. E Avery Co. In 1953 Fred was a lot attendant and in 1954 he was a porter.

Frank Elmer Avery owned an automobile dealership and service station located on Franklin Avenue. His shop was the first commercial auto repair garage in the United States - opened in 1899. It later became Avery Pontiac and was purchased by Dave Gill in 1982.

The Model A was the first car manufactured by Ford after the establishment of the company in 1903. The 31st car to drive out of Henry Ford's new factory in 1903 was a 2-cylinder, 2-seater car simply called The Ford, and later to be called the Model A. It was delivered on August 4, 1903 to Mr F. E. Avery of Columbus, Ohio just 160 miles from Detroit, Michigan.

Fred died July 17, 1973. Essie died May 26, 1975 in Columbus.

Essie sold the house on July 19, 1974 to Julia Mae Garrett and Emma L. Lucas who lived at 2101 Woodward Avenue.

Julia Mae Garrett was born about 1927. She married Hayman Jamal Garrett on December 29, 1991 in Franklin County. Hayman was born June 6, 1930. He served in the Air Force from 1946 to 1971. Hayman died on December 3, 2000 in Lafayette, Louisiana.

Emma L. Lucas was born May 27, 1921 in Wilmington, Ohio, daughter of William Henry and Rowena Frisco Lucas. She died on April 15, 1992 and left her half interest in this and several other properties to Julia.

The property was transferred to Julia's name solely on April 28, 1992 and her address at that time was  1113 Lilley Avenue. Julia sold the house to Elizabeth Freeman on May 10, 1993 and on that deed the signatures of Julia and Hayman were notarized in Louisiana.

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

263 Woodland Avenue - Mary Denmead House

263 Woodland Avenue, March 2010
Lot 10 of Watson and Ryan's subdivision and part of lots 16 and part of 17 of Nelson's Heirs subdivision.

Mary S. Denmead purchased this property on January 21, 1905 from a relative on the maternal side of her family, William Franklin.

Edward Denmead was born April 24, 1840 in Baltimore, Maryland, son of Thomas and Caroline Brown Denmead. He married Mary Scott Dun on November 18, 1880. Mary was born December 1, 1852 in Ohio, daughter of Robert George and Ann Love Franklin Dun. They had two sons, Edward Graham born August 6, 1881 and Walter Angus (November 23, 1887-April 4, 1917). Another son was stillborn on April 11, 1896.

From Brick (a trade magazine), September 1901
Edward Denmead was a director for the Columbus Evening Post, Democratic which began December 4, 1888. He also was one of the first people to buy tracts of land and lay out the area that would become Grandview Heights in the Columbus area. Denmead was also President and Treasurer of the American Art Tile Company and Director of Accounts for the City of Columbus. About 1889-90, Denmead was Manager of the Columbus Transfer Company.

Edward Denmead House, 153 Woodland Avenue, circa 1898.
Built 1890, Frank Packard, Architect.
The Denmeads first home on Woodland Avenue was at 153, then they moved to 253 and lastly 263. Other members of the family lived at 115 Woodland Avenue. 253 Woodland Avenue was later owned by Louis Phillip Hoster and the original house on the property was demolished in 1921 and replaced with a Tudor style residence.

In the 1903 City Directory, Mary and her son, Edward G. "Graham" are listed at 253 Woodland Avenue. Graham's WWI Draft Registration card from September 1918 lists his address as West Liberty, Logan County, Ohio and his next of kin is his mother Mary, living at 263 Woodland Avenue.

An obituary in the May 1917, Ohio State University Monthly, "Walter Angus Denmead, Eng., '10, died Easter Sunday, April 8th, in Schenectady, N.Y., from pernicious anaemia, after an illness of one month. He leaves behind a wife and one child, a son about a year old. He was connected with the General Electric Company at Schenectady.

Mr. Denmead was a descendant of two prominent old Columbus families, the Duns and Denmeads, and his funeral was held from the family residence, 115 Woodland Ave., Columbus, April 11th. Interment at Greenlawn Cemetery. He was a brother of Graham Denmead and a member of Phi Delta Theta."

Robert Graham
Denmead, 

circa 1930
On Graham's WWII Draft Registration card his next of kin is listed as R.G. Denmead, 115 Woodland Avenue. Robert Graham Denmead (1908) was Graham's son. He graduated from the Ohio State University with a degree in Engineering/Architecture. Robert later went on to be a Realtor, owned his own firm, R.G. Denmead & Company and served as President of the Columbus Board of Realtors in 1953.

The Denmeads are buried at Greenlawn Cemetery. Edward died on July 20, 1901, Mary died March 22, 1944, Graham died on November 27, 1951.

Graham sold the house on October 13, 1944 to Clarence and Ruth A. Caplinger.

Clarence A. Caplinger was born March 14, 1898 in Adams County, Ohio, son of Landon and Sarah Hughey Caplinger. He married Ruth A. Courtney in Adams County on April 10, 1917. Ruth was born November 13, 1899 in Adams County, daughter of Simon and Addie Shoemaker Courtney. They had five children: Berlin A. (1919), Arlan L. (1921), Virginia A. (1922), Kathleen L. (1924) and Carlson (1925).

In 1930 the Caplingers lived in Seaman, Adams County. Clarence was working as a laborer on the steam railroad. As early as 1938 the Caplingers lived at 522 Woodland Avenue. In Columbus Clarence worked as a bricklayer and railroad timekeeper. In 1940 Ruth was a clerk in a grocery store.

A little over a year after buying the house, the Caplingers sold it on December 13, 1945 to Myrtle J. Clark.

William Luther Clark was born about 1890 in Indiana. He married Myrtle Johnson on September 1, 1918. Myrtle was born October 8, 1895 in Georgia, daughter of Elisha Edward and Malissa Stephens Johnson. They had two children, Charles Kermit (April 17, 1919-December 25, 1943) and Mary Virginia (1922).
In 1940, William Clark worked as a cook at the Goodale Hotel. This postcard shows the northwest corner of High  and Goodale Streets, showing the Northern Hotel on the corner and down the street on Goodale is the U.C.T. or the United Commercial Travelers building. The Northern Hotel opened December 1, 1878 as the Great Park Hotel and was demolished on January 1, 1957. A section of this facility was also known as the Goodale Hotel.
In 1930 the Clarks lived at 607 Oak Street, which they rented for $50/month. William was working as a chef in a restaurant. They had two boarders and Myrtle's younger sister lived with them.

Mary Virginia Clark married Frank Louis Neuhauser in Washington, DC on February 3, 1945.

On October 13, 1950 Lawrence and Ruth L. Mulligan purchased the house and were it's first African-American owners.

Laurence Mulligan was born about 1913 in Georgia, son of Alfred Edgar and Lena Mulligan. He married Ruth. Ruth was born about 1913.

1417 East Long Street
Lawrence appears in the 1920 and 1930 Census in Fort Gaines, Clay County, Georgia. By 1940 he is living in Columbus at 1417 East Long Street with his uncle, Berry McDonald. Lawrence is working as a bartender at a private club.

The Mulligans lived for a short time at 175 N. 20th Avenue before purchasing the house on Woodland Avenue. They sold their house at 1563 Clifton Avenue on October 4, 1950.

December 19, 1980 Lawrence Mulligan

Ruth died in Columbus on December 18, 1978 and Lawrence died on April 6, 1985.

On February 7, 1986, the property was transferred to Lawrence's heir, Alfred Mulligan of Newark, New Jersey. I believe this was his brother, Alfred Edgar Mulligan, Jr. On April 23, 1987 Alfred transferred the property to his son, Marcine Mulligan.

On July 6, 1993 the property was acquired by Working Capital, Inc.

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

1601 Granville Street - Horlocker House

1601 Granville Street, March 2010

Lots 49 and 50 in Smith's Woodland Park Addition

John W. Horlocker was born July 11, 1856 in Ohio, son of Rev. Daniel and Elizabeth Williams Horlocker. He married Lenna M. Ackerson in Kansas City, Kansas on September 14, 1892.
Lenna was born about 1870 in Wyandotte County, Kansas, daughter of George M. and Josephine Pearce Ackerson.

Rev. Daniel Horlocker was associated with the Third Avenue M.E. Church.

In 1905 the Horlockers lived at 1040 Franklin Avenue. The 1906 City Directory shows them at 1601 Granville Street.

In the 1884 and 1890 City Directories, John is listed as a carpenter living on Summit Street. The 1900 Census lists the Horlockers at 1293 Wesley Avenue.

The 1910 Census lists John and Lenna with two nieces, Regina (1891) and Josephine (1894) Williams and a servant, Ada King (age 25). John's occupation is building contractor.

In 1920, John and Lenna were living at 2591 Summit Street. In the 1930 Census, John and Lenna were living with John's older sister Lillian at 1251 Summit Street, a house he lived in in 1890.

The 1945 City Directory shows the widow Lenna living at 143 Sherman Avenue, Apartment 2.

John died October 18, 1941. Lenna died January 1, 1955. They are buried at Greenlawn Cemetery.
.
On July 9, 1917, the Horlockers exchanged property with Dwight and Evalena M. Howard who lived at 1424 Madison Avenue.

Dwight (Vernon) Howard was born July 10, 1883 in Westerville, son of Mitchell C. and Kate E. Thompson Howard. He married Evalena A. McCune in Franklin County on January 18, 1913. Evalena was born May 22, 1891 in Columbus, daughter of Jonas M. and Evalena Gares McCune. They had three children, Natalie (1914), Dwight Jr,. (1916) and Sylvia A. (1922).
Dwight Howard, Jr.

Evalena's father, Jonas M. McCune lived at 120 Parkwood Avenue. Her brother Jonas F. McCune married Vivian Peavey Dewey who lived at 1631 Granville Street and later at 1599 Clifton Avenue. Jonas F. McCune committed suicide in 1932 and the address given at the time of his death was 105 Woodland Avenue.

Dwight was a general practice attorney. His son, Dwight, Jr. graduated from Ohio State in 1939 with a degree in industrial engineering. He worked for Owens-Corning Glass Company.

The Howards sold their home at 1601 Granville Street and moved to 1581 Hawthorne Park in 1924.

Dwight died in Columbus on December 23, 1942 at his home at 1581 Hawthorne Park. He is buried at Greenlawn Cemetery.

On October 2, 1924 the Howards sold the house to the Froshs.


Dr. Charles Fryer Frosh
circa 1930

Dr. Charles Fryer Frosh was born July 12, 1883 in Zanesville, son of Bennett and Kate Fryer Frosh. He married Eleanor L. Buckley. Eleanor was born February 19, 1885. They had a daughter, Kathryne A. (October 14, 1915-April 12, 1949).

Frosh was a physician. He graduated from Ohio Medical College in 1909. He was on the staff of Mount Carmel Hospital.

Dr. Frosh died at home on March 1, 1947. Eleanor died in Columbus on November 10, 1968. The Froshs are buried at Greenlawn Cemetery.

Eleanor sold the house on October 17, 1951 to Elmer W. Johnson.

Elmer W. Johnson was born about 1904, son of Lindsay and Hattie Johnson.

In the 1930 Census, Elmer is living at 166 Lexington Avenue with his widowed mother. Elmer is working as a "moving picture operator" at the Empress Theater.

The Empress Theater was built by James Albert "Al" Jackson, a successful feed merchant. He and his business partner, James "Ernie" Williams, opened the Empress Theater at 768 East Long Street in 1920. According to oral history, Jackson was angered by the purchase of the nearby Vernon Theatre by a white-owned theatre chain with a “No Admission to Negroes” policy, and decided to build a grand and beautiful theatre especially for Columbus’ African-American population. Jackson said that he'd fix them, "I'll build a theater better than any one in the United States."

Jackson and Williams built, owned, and operated the Empress Theatre, the Empress Soda Grill, and the Crystal Slipper Ballroom.



Empress Theater, on Long near Garfield

A paragraph in the March 6, 1920, edition of the Cleveland Advocate briefly describes the opening of the Empress Theater in Columbus:

New Movie Theater Opened in Ohio's Capital (March 4) - The Empress theater, the new $50,000 movie theater just completed in East Long street, and owned and conducted by two Colored men, J. Ernest Williams and J. Albert Jackson, opened its doors to the public today, a tremendous rush of people clamoring for admission. It is a beautiful playhouse, with all modern accessories. A feature of the opening was the attendance of the L'Llegro Club in a body, followed by a club banquet at Brassfield's cafe.

The Robert Morton Theatre Organ was built in 1928 and installed in the Empress Theatre in Columbus, Ohio. It is a smaller version of the Ohio Theatre’s Mighty Morton Theatre Organ. David Billmire acquired the organ in 1990 and restored it over the next eight years. The original twelve ranks of pipes have been expanded to seventeen, and the entire instrument has been professionally voiced and finished.  It has over 1,200 pipes, and features six sets of tuned percussion, including a vibraphone, chimes, bells, whistles, and a complete set of drums.

Elmer must have maintained the house as a rental property. In 1963, Ruth O. Hall was a tenant.

East Side Man Shot in Head By 2 Robbers, Columbus Dispatch, June 15, 1963, "Sherman Phillips, 45, of 1618 Clifton Ave., was shot in the head by two armed robbers, a man and a woman, late Friday night at a parking lot at 747 E. Long St., police reported.

"Phillips is listed in critical condition Saturday at St. Anthony Hospital after undergoing surgery. The bullet entered his head through his left cheek, police said.

"Witnesses told police they saw the man and woman shoot Phillips and remove "objects" from his pocket. Police have not determined whether Phillips was carrying a billfold, but said $1.02 was found in his pocket at the hospital."

Jury Indicts Man, Woman On First Degree Murder, Columbus Dispatch, August 20, 1963, "The grand jury indicted Ruth O. Hall, 20 of 1601 Granville St., and Robert L. Piper, 27, of 1453 Eastwood Ave., Monday on charges of first degree murder while committing armed robbery.

"They were arrested in the $65 robbery and shooting death June 14 of Sherman Phillips, 45, of 1618 Clifton Ave., in a parking lot at 747 E. Long St.

"Police said the woman enticed Phillips to the lot where he was attacked and shot by Piper. The victim was shot in the face, police said."

Sherman W. Phillips, Jr. was born in 1918 in Virginia, son of Sherman W., Sr and LaVancha M. Phillips. He grew up in Mechanicsburg, Ohio. In 1940 he was a boarder at 1388 Clifton Avenue and he was working as a clerk in a grocery store.

Elmer Johnson died in Columbus on July 7, 1978.

The property was transferred to Sandy A. Wilson on February 23, 1983.

Sandy Wilson died on July 12, 1987 and the property went to her heir, Vanessa Simon (Joseph Earl Curry). She sold the property on November 28, 1988 to Carl and Stacy Woodford, Sr.

Tuesday, June 19, 2012

48 Parkwood Avenue - Foley House

48 Parkwood Avenue
48, 49, Part 46, 47 Calender and Rockwell's Subdivision of Lots 15-18 in Keys Barrs North Addition to Eastwood

Jeremiah "Jerry" Foley was born February 17, 1860 in Ohio, son of Irish born parents, Thomas and Ellen Moore Foley. He married Mary Ann Gallahan on December 1, 1882 in Clark County, Ohio. Mary was born about April 1865 in Indiana, daughter of Patrick and Mary Thornton Gallahan. They had five children, Anna Regina (1884-1971), Thomas (1885), Mamie (1886-1947), Ella G. (1888) and Harry Henry (1897-1969). Anna married William H. Andrews, Jr. and lived at 1618 Granville Street.

Jeremiah Foley was a contractor. In 1901 the Foleys lived at 2325 East Broad Street. The Parkwood house was built between 1904 and 1905. In 1910 they lived Mary's mother, Mary, aged 80 lived with them and they had one live-in servant, Harriet Carly, age 19, born in Ohio.

Jeremiah died of cirrhosis of the liver at 48 Parkwood Avenue on December 21, 1914. He is buried at St. Joseph's Cemetery.

On January 11, 1923, Jeremiah's heirs, Mary A. Foley, Mamie Foley, Ella Foley, and Anna E. Krumm sold the Parkwood house to Townsend D. and Lela Van Camp.

1715 Franklin Park South
The cover of the September 30, 1923 Ohio State Journal Magazine features an engraving of the newly completed Foley House built for Mary Foley at 1715 Franklin Park South.

Mary Foley died in Columbus on October 18, 1941.

On January 2, 1923, Townsend and Lela VanCamp purchased the Parkwood house.

Townsend Dickerson VanCamp was born October 26, 1872 in Newtonsville, Ohio, son of Thomas and Sarah Slone VanCamp. Townsend married Florence Brunk on March 7, 1895. Florence was born in January 1874. They had two sons, Raymond Edward (August 1897), and Stanley (March 14, 1901).


In the 1900 Census the Van Camps are living in Wayne Township (South of Stonelick Creek), Clermont County. Townsend's occupation is "huckster".

On July 18, 1908, Townsend married Anna R. Carlton in Clermont County. Anna was born September 7, 1888 in Chasetown, Ohio, daughter of James and Rosa Gilliam Carlton. They had a son, Clarence Townsend (July 15, 1909-January 31, 1925).

Townsend is listed in the 1915 City Directory Cincinnati, living in Norwood. His occupation is building contractor.

Before January 1923, Townsend married divorcee, Lela Gordon.

His marriage to Lela didn't last long. Lela had divorced her first husband, Joseph E. Gordon. Lela and Joseph E. had a son, Joseph T. Their son married a woman named Hazel M. Lela's second marriage to Townsend lasted less than a year before Lela returned to her first husband, who she subsequently remarried.

On May 1, 1924, Townsend married Jane Hamilton in Franklin County. Jane was the widow of Arthur Powell. Jane was born August 26, 1885 in Batavia, Ohio, daughter of Daniel and Elizabeth Appel Hamilton.

The 1924 Columbus City Directory lists T.D. VanCamp Company, asphalt contractors, with offices at 515 Hartman Building. His son Raymond is living with him and also working as a road contractor.

On November 15, 1924 deed to the house changed to Townsend D. and Jane Hamilton VanCamp.

The 1925 City Directory lists Townsend and Jane. Imogene, Cecil and George Hamilton live at the house. Raymond has married and is living at 1220 East Livingston Avenue.

Townsend died April 30, 1950.

On June 21, 1943, William E. and Charlotte May Jones bought the house.

William E. Jones was born July 25, 1903 in New Albany, Indiana, son of W.S. and Louise Searles Jones. He married Charlotte May "Lottie" Kraner in Franklin County on November 29, 1923. Lottie was born September 6, 1905 in Columbus, daughter of William R. and Josephine Bresnehan Kraner. They had four children, William C. (1924), Robert L. (1925), Richard W. (1927), and Charlotte M. (1929).


The 1925 City Directory shows the Jones living at 503 South Fourth Street. William is a "peddler". The 1927 Directory shows the Jones living at 495 South Lazelle Street and William is working in "bumpers" and in 1928 his trade is automotive supplies.


174 South Eureka Avenue
In 1930 the Jones lived at 174 South Eureka Avenue. William's occupation was huckster. William's widowed grandmother, Rebecca S. Kraner was living with them. In 1938 they were still at South Eureka, but William's occupation was now real estate.


The 1954 City Directory shows the Jones at 3170 Wicklow Road. William is President of the Ohio Nomis (Norris) Corporation.

Charlotte died in Columbus on January 14, 1989. She had been living in Grove City.

On February 3, 1945, Dallas H. and Marie Dice bought the house.

Dallas H. Dice was born in Indiana on October 30, 1900, son of Frederick E. and Lillian Hodson Dice. He married Bernice L. Anderson in Tippecanoe County, Indiana on August 12, 1922. Bernice was born about 1906 in Indiana. They had a daughter, Phyllis (1926).

In the early to mid 1920s Dallas lived in Anderson, Indiana and worked at the Dice Machine Company, owned by his father. In 1930 they Dices live in Indianapolis and Dallas is a chemist for a medicine company.

Dallas came to Columbus from Indianapolis, Indiana in about 1936.

A bottle of children's cough tablets manufactured
by The Warren-Teed Products Company of Columbus.
Each tablet contains 1-20 gr. Extract of Cannabis.
Dallas is listed in the 1938 City Director as a chemist for Warren-Teed Product Company. He and Marie live at 2688 Fisher Road, at that time a rural route.

In the 1945 City Directory, Dallas is listed at 602 East Town Street, Apartment 13, and his occupation is real estate. In 1946 they are living at 2646 West Broad Street.

Dallas died in San Antonio, Texas on May 26, 1949. He and Marie had been living in Bexar, Texas. He is buried in Russiaville Cemetery in Howard County, Indiana.

On August 15, 1946 the Weavers bought the house. Dewey, Susie and their daughter Vera.

Dewey A. Weaver was born September 11, 1896 in (Hocking County) Ohio, son of William and Lulu Carroll Weaver. Dewey had no middle name, only the middle initial A. His first wife Ida Stumpf, died soon after they married at age 19 of "acute nephritis", and his second marriage was to Susie M. Good about 1921. Susie was born January 7, 1899 in (Hocking County) Ohio, daughter of Thomas H. and Nettie M. Good. They had a daughter, Vera Alice (September 18, 1921-November 13, 2000).

In 1930 the Weavers lived at 1459 Briarwood Avenue in Columbus. Dewey's 20 year old sister Carrie was living with them. Dewey was an electric company fireman, Susie was a hardware store cashier and Carrie was a bookkeeper.

In 1942 the Weavers lived at 1359 Highland Street. Dewey was working for the Columbus and Southern Electric Company at 104 West Hickory Street.

Dewey died in Licking County on September 20, 1981. Susie died in Columbus in April 1968.


In the 1951 City Directory, Pearl E. Brown is listed at the 48 Parkwood address.

On May 28, 1954, the Weavers sold the house to the current owners, The Ohio Baptist General Association.

Now known as the Ohio Baptist General Convention, the organization was started in 1896 as the Ohio Baptist State Convention (Colored). The house at 48 Parkwood Avenue served as their headquarters until 1996.

Friday, June 15, 2012

1556 Granville Street - Renz House

1556 Granville Street
Lot 54, Smith's Woodland Park Addition

John Jacob Renz, Jr. was born February 22, 1871 in Columbus, son of John Jacob and Catherine Kaiser Renz. He married Flora Pauline Dorbert on September 9, 1903 in Franklin County. Flora was born November 29, 1873 in Columbus, daughter of George and Clara Guthke Dorbert. They had a daughter, Pauline H. (1909)

The Renz first appear on Granville Street in the 1907 City Directory. In 1906 and earlier John's occupation is listed as molder, this was also his father's occupation. John worked as a molder until 1911 when he got a job as a sanitary inspector. In 1913 his job is listed as Sergeant Sanitary Police.

The 1916 City Directory lists John as Chief of Sanitation and Tenement Inspection, City Board of Health. The Renz' home address is 1362 Granville Street, on the west side of Taylor Avenue. In the 1920 Census, the Renz are renting 943 East Main Street and John is Chief Sanitary Officer of the Health Department.

In the 1930 Census, the Renz live in Clintonville at 165 Tibet Road. John is a Deputy Clerk of the Franklin County Court.

The Dillies bought the house from the Renz on March 17, 1919.


John Edson Dillie was born April 12, 1878 in Brookville, Montgomery County, the son of Zachariah T.  and Tamson Hartman Dillie. He married Martha A. Barber in Clark County on November 14, 1901. Martha was born on January 30, 1881 in Ross County, daughter of Joseph D. and Mary A. Drummond  Barber.

John Edson Dillie was a motorman on the Ohio Electric Railroad in 1910 and at least through 1918. The Ohio Electric Railway Company was an interurban formed in 1907 with the consolidation of 14 smaller interurban railways. It was one of Ohio's largest interurban systems. It connected Toledo, Lima, Dayton, Columbus, and Cincinnati, providing passenger service to small towns in western Ohio. The railroad went bankrupt in 1927.


Nephew Kenneth Randall lived with them in 1920 and 1930. Also in 1930, nephew Joseph W. Case, and nieces Mabel and Wilma.

The 1949 Columbus City Directory lists John and Martha at Dillie's Delicatessen, 4 Central Market and they are living at 34 North Remington Road. The Central Market House was on Fourth and ran between Town and Rich Streets.

In the 1920s and 30s there were some transfers of the property, but they seem to all be between relatives of John's. The property always returned to John Dillie in these exchanges.

John died in Florida on August 30, 1979 at age 102.

On November 13, 1943, the widowed Alpha R. Dotson bought the house from the Dillies.

Byron Harry Dotson was born March 11, 1900 in Canal Winchester, Ohio, son of Charles E. and Emma May Waltermire Dotson. He married Alpha Ruth Soncrant in Detroit, Michigan on September 8, 1919. Alpha was born February 24, 1893 in Fremont, Ohio, daughter of Jacob Christ and Christina Margarete Myers Soncrant. They had five children: Harry L. (1921), Lois C. (1923), Audrey R. (1925), Edward B. (1927) and Wildra R. (1928).

I'll mention here that the Soncrant name is also found spelled Sanscrainte in some records and that Alpha's father, Jacob Christ went by his first and middle names alternately.

In 1920 the Dotsons lived in Bloom Township, Fairfield County. Byron was a farm laborer. The Dotsons lived in Groveport in 1930 and Byron was a stationery engineer in an electric power plant. He died October 16, 1941 of complications following a heart attack. His death certificate lists his occupation as fireman with the Columbus & Southern Electric Company. The Dotsons lived on Blacklick Street in Groveport at the time. Byron is buried in Lithopolis, Ohio.

Alpha died in Greenfield, Ohio on December 4, 1975.

Just a few months later, on July 26, 1944, Alpha sold the house to her brother, John C. Soncrant.

John C. Soncrant was born May (or October) 25, 1904 in Port Clinton, Ohio, son of Jacob Christ Soncrant and Christina Myers. He married Mary Sigler, a divorcee, on October 6, 1927 in Franklin County. Mary's first husband's name was Guy Norris. Mary was born in 1904 in Winfield, West Virginia, daughter of Selby and Eliza Lanham Sigler.

In the 1930 Census, John is listed as an Army recruit at Fort Hayes. John C. Soncrant is listed in the 1945 City Directory at 1556, his occupation is listed as U.S. Army. John was a MSgt in the US Air Force and served in WWII.

He later married Cloneil Clara Upton. "Clo" was born November 20, 1919 in Mississippi. She died October 3, 2003 in Houston, Texas. Her obituary reports that "she was an avid gardener, loved her family and was a great fan of George Strait. She was preceded in death by her parents, Clarence and Maxie Upton and husband, John Soncrant. She is survived by her sons, John Soncrant (December 1945) and wife, Kathleen of Spring, TX, Charles R. Soncrant (January 4, 1928-January 6, 2004) and wife, Lois of Issaquah, Washington; brother, Fred Upton of Jackson, Mississippi; 7 grandchildren and 6 great grandchildren."

John died of cancer on May 24, 1959 in Bexar, Texas. His death certificate states that his regular address was 615 Shadywood Lane in San Antonio. He had been at the Air Force Hospital at Lackland Air Force Base for three months prior to his death. He is buried at Fort Sam Houston National Cemetery.

On June 5, 1950, Edward D. and Viola E. Clement bought the house from John and Cloneil C. Soncrant of Jackson, Mississippi.

Rev. Edward D. Clement was born March 8, 1910 in Ohio, son of Elizabeth Clement. He married Veola E. Hopewell before 1932. Viola was born in 1911 in Virginia, probably the daughter of William and Sarah Hopewell. They had a daughter Martha who died of pneumonia at 11 days old, born on April 14, 1933. Martha is buried at Evergreen Cemetery. They had another daughter, Ruth Marie (September 12, 1934-December 10, 1998).

In the 1932 City Directory the Cements are listed at 239 North 21st Street. Edward is a laborer. In 1938 they lived at 289-1/2 North Ohio Avenue and Edward is listed as janitor at the Medical Science Building Company. From 1941 to 1950 the Clements lived at 1330 Clifton Avenue, Apartment J. Edward was working as a janitor.

Viola died on June 7, 1960. the property was divided equally between Edward and her daughter, Ruth C. Jenkins.

Edward D. Clement, Jr.
Edward later married Emeliana N. Dionisio, a Filiipina born February 8, 1935. They had a son, Edward D. Clement, Jr. (February 8, 1974-June 28, 2009) and two daughters, Lolita and Carmelita.

Edward died in Columbus on October 24, 1979. His interest in the property (then an undivided 3/4) passed to his second wife, Emeliana N. Clement. On October 21, 1982, Emeliana bought Ruth's then 1/4 interest in the property.

The Columbus Dispatch of March 27, 1996 reported, "Two men were shot yesterday afternoon at 1556 Granville St., on the Near East Side during an argument with a third man....Alvin Wilson, 21, suffered a gunshot wound in the abdomen and was in fair condition last night at Grant Medical Center...Eric Robinson, 27, was in serious condition at Grant with gunshot wounds in the chest and arm...Police said Wilson and Robinson were arguing with a man when he pulled out a gun and shot them...The suspect then fled. No arrests have been made."

Emeliana died in Columbus on March 31, 2004.

Edward E. Phillips purchased the property on February 26, 2002.

1589 Richmond Avenue - Hopkins House

1589 Richmond Avenue
Lot 26, Levi R. and Hugh E. Smith's Woodland Park Addition

This house was probably built about 1904.

Oliver Perry Hopkins was born about September 1868 in Ohio, son of Owen Johnson and Julia Sophronia Hopkins. He married Mary A. Dunlap in Chicago, Illinois on June 19, 1895. Mary was born November 15, 1874 in California, daughter of Elijah Kinne and Elizabeth (Parrish) Dunlap. Mary and Oliver had one daughter, Helen Adelaide (December 5, 1901).

In 1900, the couple was living in Cleveland. Oliver was a commercial traveler. Mary's name is listed as "Jennie" in that Census. In 1904 the family was living at 269 Miller Avenue, but the 1905 Directory shows their address as 1589. In 1910, Oliver was manager of The Keasbey and Mattison Company, a manufacturer of asbestos and related building products. The Hopkins had a servant, Bessie E. King, an 18-year-old born in West Virginia.

By the mid-teens, Oliver was back to being a commercial traveler, selling pharmaceutials. After his wife's death in 1929, he was living in the house alone. The house was then valued at $12,000. Oliver was now the sales manager for the drug company.

Mary died at the house on June 28, 1929 of uremic poisoning from a double mastoid infection. She is buried at Greenlawn Cemetery. On September 29, 1929 the property was transferred to Oliver. Oliver died January 7, 1940. On November 4, 1940 the property was transferred to their daughter, Helen H. Cullins. At the time Helen was living at 3225 Via La Selva, Palis Verdes Estate, California.

The Hopkins' marriage license

Thomas Oliver Cullins, Jr.
On August 24, 1942 Helen and her husband, Thomas Oliver Cullins, Jr. were living in Annapolis, Maryland. They sold the house to Frank C. and Sarah E. Mitton.

Frank Cusic Mitton was born September 25, 1881 in Grand Prairie, Marion County, son of William and Dora (Emmons) Mitton. He married Sarah Elizabeth. Sarah was born about 1889 in West Virginia. They had two daughters: Dorothy (1902) and Elizabeth (1910).

In 1918 Frank was a yard engineer for the Pennsylvania railroad. In 1920 his occupation was interior decorator.

Frank died in Delaware, Ohio on June 30, 1951. Sarah died in June 1978.

On March 27, 1946 Paul A. and Mabel E. Byers bought the house.

The Byers sold it on April 30, 1948 to Clara Snell Wolfe of 1841 Roxbury Road.

Clara Snell Wolfe, circa 1920
Albert Benedict Wolfe was born August 23, 1876 in Arlington, Illinois. He married Clara Snell on September 6, 1906. Clara was born May 9, 1874 in Milledgeville, Illinois, daughter of Francis Adam and Ellen Rosamond Campbell Snell.

Clara was an author and educator and held positions as principal, teacher and lecturer. She was active in women's rights and suffrage issues in Ohio. She organized the Woman Suffrage Party in Cleveland and was a speaker and organizer in the Ohio suffrage campaign of 1912.

Albert was Harvard educated and recieved his Ph.D. in 1905. From the Ohio State University website, "His first book, published in 1906, reflects his sociological interests, and perhaps personal experience: The Lodging House Problem in Boston. He was on the faculty of Oberlin College teaching economics and sociology from 1907-1914, at the University of Texas from 1914-1923, and then at The Ohio State University from 1923-1946. During the summer months he taught economics and/or sociology for a number of universities around the country. In 1956 he received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from Ohio State. After retiring from OSU Wolfe continued to live in Columbus, Ohio until his death in 1967.

Attacked for his liberal thinking in 1920 while in Texas, Wolfe wrote a book on radicalism: Conservatism, Radicalism, and Scientific Method: an Essay on Social Attitudes(1923). Documents related to the charges against Wolfe may be found in the Lauch McLaurin papers in The University of Texas at Austin Tarlton Law Library. Judge McLaurin was a Professor of Law at the university.

Later, in 1935, Wolfe and two colleagues representing the AAUP visited the University of Pittsburgh to investigate the dismissal of the historian, Ralph E. Turner. In their report they found that Chancellor John Gabbert Bowman had forced the resignations of 53 professors based upon their liberal attitudes (reported in Time magazine, Mar. 4, 1935)."

Albert and Clara both died in Upper Arlington, Albert on June 3, 1967 and Clara on June 12, 1970. They are buried in the 1946 Addition to Union Cemetery.

On August 22, 1952 the property was first transferred to James W. and Telitha E. Williams of 679 N. Nelson Road. Then on the same day, there was a transfer from them to John R. and Lois Dixon, assuming a mortgage of $6,300.

Joseph A. Sugar, Sr. bought the house from the Dixons on January 17, 1958.

Joseph Anthony Sugar, Sr. was born March 23, 1900 in Ohio, son of Italian parents, Augustinio and Augustina Palumbo Sugar. He married Alice L.

The Sugar family were all involved in the fruit business. In 1918 Joseph was a clerk at a construction company, but in 1930 he was a fruit salesman.

Joseph's brother James owned the neighboring house at 1585 Richmond Avenue.

Joseph died in Upper Arlington on July 1, 1988.

On November 14, 1964, Leroy W. Montgomery bought the house.

On March 17, 1967, the bank petitioned for sheriff's sale. They had received judgement of $13,500 with interest from September 1, 1966. He house was transferred to the Secretary of HUD for $7,000 in September 1967.

On April 16, 1968 John H., Sr. and Thelma L. Davenport bought the house.

John H. Davenport, Sr. was born December 13, 1932. He married Thelma L., born February 20, 1933.

Thelma died in Columbus on September 5, 2008.