Wednesday, October 17, 2012

1715 Clifton Avenue - Guitner House

1715 Clifton Avenue, March 2010
Lot 11 Clifton Park

Harold Guitner and Irene Thrailkill bought this lot on February 12, 1917 from Esther Fearn, Horace H. and Mary Tremaine. This trio bought lots 1-5 and 7-12 in Clifton Park along with some other properties on April 22, 1913 for $7,984.91 from the estate of Edward Denmead. The Denmeads lived in several homes on Woodland Avenue. Denmead had bought the lots (along with some other property) for $10,000 on May 12, 1899 from Cotton H. Allen, Vice President of The Hayden National Bank and The P. Hayden Saddlery Hardware Co. Allen had purchased some of the lots in 1891 and in 1892 from John G. Calender.

Harold Guitner
Harold transferred his interest in the property to Irene on March 3, 1918 while he was at Camp Sherman in Ross County, Ohio.

Harold Westwater Guitner was born May 5, 1892 in Dayton, Ohio, son of William Owen and Ella Westwater Guitner. He married Irene Thrailkill in Franklin County on January 26, 1918 . Irene was born April 24, 1894 in Columbus, daughter of M.E. and Laura Haughn Thrailkill. They had a daughter, Constance.

This house was probably completed in late 1918/early 1919. In 1919, Harold was a partner in Bates & Guitner, surety bonds and general insurance and the 1919 City directory shows the Guitners living in their new home.

1901 ad for the Goodhair Remedy
On January 23, 1923, The Newark (Ohio) Advocate reported, "Goodhair Interests Locate in Columbus - The Goodhair Remedy company of Newark, manufacturers and distributors of Goodhair soap, has been purchased from the estate of Edward S. Miller by two Columbus men, Merwyn R. Hatch of the Independent Tire company, and Harold W. Guitner of Bates & Guitner. The new company will be known as the Goodhair company and will locate in Columbus. Hatch is president of the new organization and Guitner, secretary and treasurer. The new owners plan to inaugurate an extensive advertising and sales campaign in the immediate future." The Goodhair Co.  is last listed in the 1925 City Directory. It does not seem that this venture met with success.

Harold's death on September 30, 1962 made front page news in the Columbus Dispatch on October 1, 1962. The headline read "Harold Westwater Guitner, 70, 76 Ashbourne Rd., President of The H.W. Guitner Insurance Agency, 150 Broad St., for 45 years, dies." The article contines with a biography of Guitner.

Irene died on December 6, 1970. She and Harold are buried at Greenlawn Cemetery.

On October 31, 1933, Marion T. Johnson bought the house assuming an unspecified balance on an original $7,500 mortgage.

Derrol Johnson, circa 1924
George Derrol Resh Johnson was born March 21, 1904 in Ira, Ohio, son of Arthur Charles and Grace Resh Johnson. He married Marion M. Tracy in Franklin County on May 18, 1929. Marion was born June 22, 1907 in Columbus, daughter of Uri, Jr. and Elta Moore Tracy. They had two daughters: Nancy (1933) and Sarah (1936).

Uri Tracy, Jr. was vice president of The Tracy-Wells Co. and lived at 43 Woodland Avenue in 1907. An engagement announcement that appeared in the Milwaukee Journal on December 24, 1928 mentions that, "Miss Tracy is a member of the Columbus Junior league and a graduate of Miss Baird's school in Orange, N.J. where she was a roommate of Miss Elizabeth Houghton. She has often been here as Miss Houghton's guest at her country estate at Nashotah."

In 1930 the Johnsons lived at 879 Sunbury Road. Derrol was a bank auditor. In 1940 the Johnsons lived at 2618 Berntwood Road and Derrol was a cashier and assistant vice president for a bank. They had a live-in maid, Effie Freeman.

Derrol died in Sanibel, Florida on February 11, 1983.

Helena C Swickard bought the house June 10, 1941

Charles Robert Swickard
Charles Robert Swickard was born April 14, 1864 in Westerville, Ohio, son of Henry and Ann Langham Swickard. He married Helena Gertrude Cohan about 1902. Helena was born July 24, 1869 in Portsmouth, Ohio, daughter of Jeremiah and Ellen Sullivan Cohan. They had two children Marion (April 12, 1903) and Charles Robert, Jr. (1906-1927).

Charles had his own business listed in the 1939 City Directory, C.R. Swickard, Real Estate, Rents, Property Management, 20 East Broad Street. In 1939 the Swickards lived at 24 South Monroe Avenue.

According to The Ohio Genealogical Quarterly, Charles was "was a trustee of the Columbus Genealogical Society, and served on the committee of Publication for the Ohio Genealogical Quarterly. He was interested in genealogy, not for himself, but as a matter of public interest and civic concern. He was a member of the class of 1893, Ohio State University, the Columbus Gallery of Fine Arts, The Virginia Historical Society, The Historical Society of Pennsylvania, The German Society of Pennsylvania, a life member of the Ohio State Archeological and Historical Society, a member of the Sons of the American Revolution and of the Society of Colonial Wars." The Quarterly published a history of the Swickard family as a memorial to Charles after his death.

Charles Jr. and Charles Sr. both died at the family home at 30 South Monroe Avenue. Charles Jr. died of tuberculosis on August 9, 1927. Charles Sr., died on May 12, 1940.

Helena died May 15, 1949 at St. Anthony's Hospital of an intestinal obstruction, strangulated hernia. She is buried at St. Joseph's Cemetery in Lockbourne, Ohio.

Marion Swickard, circa 1925
On December 16, 1949 the house was transferred to the Swickard's daughter, Marion.

In 1939 Marion was Assistant Manager of her father's business.

In the early 1950s Marion was president of the Columbus Diocesan Council of Catholic Women, and served on that organization's board.

Marion is listed in the 1954 City Directory living at 1715 and is self-employed, the Swickard Rental Agency. In 1957 she is listed at 999 Chelsea Avenue. The business is listed as Swickard Rental Agency (Marion Swickard), real estate, rents, property management, 208 Rowlands Building, 12 North Third.

Marion died in Columbus on December 16, 1998.

On May 14, 1956 The Smiths bought the house from Marion.

Joreece V. Smith, 2011
Harold Lloyd Smith was born May 5, 1922 in Georgia. He married Joreece V. Sweeney who was born May 19, 1925, daughter of Glenn L. and Mattie Haynes Sweeney.

In 1947 they lived at 531 Trevitt Street. In 1948 they lived at 194 North Monroe Avenue. In the 1953 and 1954 City Directory Harold is a salesman for Central Realty Company and their home address is listed as 86 Jefferson.

Harold died December 25, 1993. Joreece sold the house the the Fraziers in 2004.




Monday, October 15, 2012

1543 Hawthorne Avenue - Norris House

1543 Hawthorne Avenue, March 2010
Lot 19 of L.B. Tussings Trustees Subdivision

Norris' bought the house from Odos M. and Mary Blose for $6,500 on December 6, 1906. Blose was a building contractor and he also built 1559 Granville Street for the Dornbergs in 1904 and several other homes in the neighborhood.

Walter Beebe Norris was born March 2, 1866 in Columbus, son of John Adams and Jeanette "Nettie" Beebe Norris. He married Alice "Allie" Johnson about 1893. Allie was born March 11, 1868 in Fayette County, daughter of James and Sarah Eubanks Johnson. They had a daughter Zella B. (1900).

Norris graduated from OSU about 1890. While a student from 1884-87 he lived at 174 East Long Street. In the 1890s Norris was a real estate and financial agent. In 1899 he was manager of Lang Livery and Boarding Stables. Starting about 1900 he sold newspaper advertising for the Columbus Citizen. In 1902 they lived at 343 North 20th Street. In 1908 the Norrises lived at 1505 Hawthorne. In 1920 they lived at 330 Taylor Avenue. Before 1929 the Norrises moved in with their daughter and son-in-law, Zella and Harold W. McKinney at 1320 West Third Avenue.

Allie died January 22, 1929. Walter died April 24, 1932. They are buried at East Lawn Cemetery.

Hazelton bought the house from the Norrises on September 14, 1907. He assumed a mortgage dated December 5, 1906 for $3,500 as part of the sale.

James P. Hazelton, circa 1909
James Perry Hazelton was born May 7, 1860 in Coal Township, Perry County, son of Harrison and Lovina Marlow Hazelton. He married Emma M. McKellar on June 17, 1886. Emma was born about 1864 in Ohio, daughter of George McKellar. They had nine children: Cordelia Lovina (1888-1934), Walter Wayne (1889-1891), Ernest E. (1890), Juliet C. (1891), May (1895), Thelma C. (1896), Lucile (1899), Helen (1901) and Kirk E. (1903).

Hazelton was President of The Standard Clay Company. In 1895 he was living in New Straitsville, Ohio. The 1910 Census shows James as an agent for coal lands and the house is rather full with James and Emma and their eight children.

The Centennial History of Columbus and Franklin County, Ohio, Volume 2 (1909) has this biographical sketch of Hazelton. "While the field of business is limitless and its prizes are many, it is a well-known fact that they are to be won only through persistency of purpose and unfaltering diligence, and in the cultivation of these qualities Mr. Hazelton has gained a foremost place in business circles, his investments now yielding him gratifying profit, while he enjoys in full measure the admiration and respect of his colleagues and associates. He was born in what is now Coal township, Perry county, Ohio, May 7, 1860...James P. Hazelton was reared to the occupation of farming, working in the fields until he reached the age of twenty. When the farm labors were largely suspended, owing to the approaching winter season, he became a pupil in the district schools and later attended the high school at New Straitsville, Ohio. For two years in early manhood he engaged in teaching school and was later a book agent or canvasser. Subsequently he was given a position as a district agent for establishing agencies for different book houses and he continued in that business until 1884. In January, 1885, he formed a partnership with Henry Spencer under the firm style of Spencer & Hazelton for the purpose of operating in the coal fields, having a mine between Shawnee and New Straitsville, known as the Spencer & Hazelton mine. The also conducted a general mercantile store in New Straitsville and the partnership was continued with mutual pleasure and profit for twenty-two and a half years. Mr. Hazelton then withdrew but the business is still continued by Mr. Spencer. In 1890 Mr. Hazelton began the manufacture of paving brick, conducting that business until 1895, when the company began the manufacture of building brick. Int he winter of 1898 he organized the Columbus Face Brick Company, manufacturing what is known as "ironclay brick." Mr. Hazelton was vice president of the company and manager of the plant until 1900, when he severed his connections with the business, which, however, is still conducted under the name of the Iron Clay Brick Company.

Lovina Marlow Hazelton,
mother of James Perry Hazelton
"For many years Mr. Hazelton has maintained an office in Columbus, although retaining his residence in New Straitsville. In September, 1907, however, he removed his family to the capital city. Since withdrawing from the field of brick manufacture he has given his time and attention to the development of his coal properties and leases and carries on extensive operations in this line. In 1903 he bacame president of the Dorr Run Coal Company, having properties located near Nelsonville, Ohio, covering and area of eight hundred and sixty-four acres. This coal field is all leased on royalties. In 1907 Mr. Hazelton organized the Starr Coal & Land Company, owning fifteen hundred acres of coal land near Starr in Hocking county, Ohio. He is also vice president and general manager of the company, which leases its lands on royalty. In 1908 he organized the Reed Coal & Land Company, having properties in the Pocahontas coal fields in McDowell county, West Virginia, along the Norfolk & Western Railroad. They have twelve hundred and seventy-one acres under contractor's lease yielding royalties and in this business Mr. Hazelton is also an active executive force, being vice president and general manager of the company. He is also interested in several other projects which are good dividend paying concerns but is perhaps most widely known in connection with his operations as a representative of the coal interests of the state.

"On the 17th of June, 1886, Mr. Hazelton was married to Miss Emma M. McKellar, of Wheeling, West Virginia, a daughter of George McKellar, a florist, who was born in Paisley, Scotland and came to this country with his brothers in the early '40s. Prior to going to Wheeling, he lived for a time at Chillicothe, Ohio, and was engaged as a florist and gardener. The mother of Mrs. Hazelton was descended from the Churchills of New Hampshire. The children born to our subject and his wife are Cordelia L., Ernest E., Julia, Mary, Thelma,Lucille, Helen and Kirk.

"Mr. Hazelton belongs to the various Masonic bodies, holding membership relations with the lodge at New Straitsville, the chapter at Nelsonville and with Mount Vernon Commandery, K.T., at Columbus. His rise in the business world has been gradual and has been the logical sequence of well directed effort and fit utilization of opportunities."

Hazelton died June 28, 1910. Emma died in 1948.

Mine fire, New Straitsville, Ohio. Hazelton Hill between Shawnee and New Straitsville. Perry County.

 This photograph shows smoke wafting from the New Straitsville Mine Fire in Perry County. The mine fires are said to have started November 13, 1884, when striking miners pushed burning cars into a mine, during a strike over wages between the New Straitsville Mining Company's management and mine workers. A small group of union members decided to sabotage the mines. Cars filled with oil-soaked timber were set on fire and were pushed into a mine owned by the New Straitsville Mining Company. The fire quickly spread to the coal seam underground. Reportedly, the coal seam was fourteen feet across and extended an undetermined distance into the Earth. It took several days for the fire to be discovered. By that point, it was too late to stop the fire's spread. As a result of the fire, the mine closed. The New Straitsville mine fire has raged ever since 1884. In 1936, the WPA began work to stop the spread of the fire by building barriers across burning veins of coal. In 1938, nearly 350 men were employed on the project, which then was estimated to cost less than $1, 000, 000. Under the direction of James R. Cavanaugh, a veteran mine fire fighter, tunnels were driven through veins in the path of the fire, and were filled with a clay-water mixture or similar non-burning material. The mines fires affected coal deposits in Hocking and Perry Counties in southeastern Ohio. It was estimated that by 1938 the coal destroyed, more than two hundred square miles, was worth fifty million dollars. In 2003, smoke began to emerge from the soil of the Wayne National Forest, 119 years after the fire began.


In April 1919 the Brisleys bought the house. Apparently the title wasn't completely clear and their are several deeds associated with the sale.

Edward Charles Brisley was born May 26, 1888 in Port Huron, Michigan, son of Robert and Rose Fisher Brisley. He married Marie Louise O'Niell in Detroit on October 20, 1915. Marie was born June 11, 1889 in Michigan, daughter of John G. and Emily Olwell O'Niell. They had six children: Virginia (1919) and John Robert (1920), Emily O. (1922), Alean (1923), Edward (1925) and Frank (1929).

Edward was vice-president of The Packard Columbus Motor Company founded in 1917. In 1918 they lived at 700 Franklin Avenue. In 1920 they lived at 1543 and had a servant, 26 year-old Stella Eikelberger. By 1930 they had moved to 2448 Sherwood Road in Bexley.

Edward died in late December 1934. Marie died in Newark, Ohio on August 3, 1975.

On February 14, 1924 they sold the house to Robert K. McAllister and Robert S. Dingledine, partners in Robert McAllister & Company, real estate and builders. McAllister lived at 1603 Clifton Avenue in 1924. A little over six months later on September 30, 1924, McAllister and Dingledine sold the house to the Longs.

Charles Ford Long was born January 10, 1880 in Jackson, Ohio, son of Stephen J. and Emily Ford Long. He married Mary L. Sheldon March 30, 1910 in Franklin County. Mary was born about June 6, 1887 in Columbus, daughter of Frederick B. and Harriet Thrall Sheldon.

Long was a graduate of Miami and Ohio State Universities. Long was a chemist and for three years, starting in late 1903, he was chief chemist of the Globe Iron Company, of Jackson, Ohio doing coal analysis. He opened a laboratory with two partners in July 1909. Burgess, Kimberly & Long had offices in the Columbus Savings & Trust Building. In 1910 the Longs lived at 1300 East Long Street. The May 13, 1920 issue of Engineering News-Record reports, "Philip Burgess and Charles F. Long, of Columbus, Ohio, have dissolved partnership. Mr. Burgess has entered into a new partnership with Chester A. Niple and Warren F. Hopkins, under the firm name of Burgess and Niple, with offices at 141 East Broad St., Columbus, Ohio."

In 1930 Charles was working as a chemical engineer for a fertilizer company. He also did chemical analysis of the evidence in a famous Columbus unsolved crime. An article in This Week newspaper in December 2010, recounts, "The Bexley minister (Christ Lutheran Church) summoned his children to an upstairs room and broke the news thusly: "Mama's in the furnace," he said.

Rev. Clarence Valentine
Sheatsley, circa 1920
"Among the odd and intriguing cases dealt with in the new book "Historic Columbus Crimes," written by the father-daughter team of David Meyers and Elise Meyers Walker is the 1924 death of the Rev. Clarence Sheatsley's wife. (Addie Sponseller)

"It was on a Monday that the whole family had lunch together before scattering, leaving the mother behind alone. Later that day, Clarence Sheatsley returned to observe acrid smoke rising from the chimney, Meyers said.

"Upon discovering his wife's body incinerated in the furnace, the minister, instead of calling the police, went next door to get his neighbor, a professor at Capital University, evidently to verify the startling find.

"Then he called the children together and uttered the words that would, 80 years later, became part of the subtitle of a tome about not only the historic but also the just plain strange in terms of crimes committed in Columbus.

"What so intrigued David Meyers about the "Mama's in the Furnace" episode was that the children didn't seem particularly shocked. In fact, one of the daughters had investigated the smell and thought someone had thrown rabbit skins into the furnace, and one of the sons had looked in and realized it was his mother in there, dead, Meyers said. He responded by taking a nap and later going outside to play football.

"It's just the way the whole family reacted to this," Meyers said. "The case was never solved, but there was a coroner at the time named Murphy and even though they called in several scientists at the time and they declared she had been dead when she went into the furnace, he said she was alive."

Longs ad in the Annual Chemical Directory
of the United States, 1920.
Chemist Long and pathologist H.M. Brundage concluded that Mrs. Sheatsley "did not breathe after her body entered the furnace."

In 1942 Long had his own business, the Charles F. Long Laboratories at 8 East Long Street.

Charles died in Columbus on March 6, 1958.

The Longs sold the house on March 24, 1954 to Henry M. and Grace J. Hancock. Though the Hancocks were living there as early as 1951.

Henry Moses Hancock was born December 12, 1912 in Virginia. He married Grace Jeanette Karshner before 1951. Grace was born March 17, 1914 in Ross County, Ohio, daughter of John Franklin "Frank" and Josephine "Josie" Davis Karshner.

In the 1951 City Directory the Hancocks are living at 1543 Hawthorne Avenue and Henry is a city policeman. In the 1953 City Directory he is working as a house cleaner.

In 1957, Henry bought lots 20, 21 and 22 adjoining 1543 Hawthorne Avenue which he sold in 1963 to William T and Bonnie L. Binns of 1963 Maryland Avenue.

The Hancocks later lived at 8221 Flint Road.

Grace died in Columbus on February 20, 1993. Henry died on August 25, 1999 in Gahanna, Ohio.

Lela M. Boykin purchased the house on March 10, 1981.

1499 Menlo Place - Pickering House

1499 Menlo Place, March 2010
Lot 20 of Joel E. McCarty's Subivision

Joel McCarty sold this lot on June 9, 1908 to Ruth Hood for $700. W.W. McNeille was notary public on the deed.

Ruth Hood was born August 1853 in Ohio. The 1910 Census lists Ruth living with her sister at 1007 Madison Avenue. Both Ruth and her sister have no occupations listed other than "own income."

On March 1, 1909 Kittie Waters bought the lot from Ruth and on October 5, 1909 Kittie sold it to Susanna Pickering.

1499 Menlo Place, September 2012
Thomas Oliver Pickering was born September 7, 1874. He married Susana "Susie" Miles on June 13, 1897. Susie was born January 30, 1877, daughter of Yearsley and Minerva Miles. They had a daughter Audrey M. (1907).

The Pickerings lived in several homes in Woodland Park besides this one. They also lived at 1628 Granville Street and 1517 Hawthorne Avenue. From 1901 to 1908 they lived at 1101 East Long Street.

This house was built in late 1909-early 1910 for the Pickerings. The Pickerings are listed in the 1910 Census and the 1911 City Directory at 1499. Thomas is listed as working for Albaugh & Pickering, jewelers at 81 North High Street.

Pickering's partner, Edwin S. Albaugh (1869-1948) and his family settled in Worthington in 1920. Albaugh was a renowned watch and clock maker, having designed the largest watch in the world and the first ball-bearing clock.

The Pickerings were living at 1628 Granville in 1915. In 1918, Pickering was manager of Central Tire & Repair at 181 East Gay Street and they lived at 1517 Hawthorne Avenue. In 1920 they lived at 50 Taylor Avenue.

Pickering died April 7, 1947 and Susie died August 24, 1947 in Youngstown, Ohio.

The Pickerings sold the house in 1911 to the Huggards.

Richard T. Huggard was born August 20, 1863 in Chicago, Illinois, son of John and Mary Garvey Huggard. He married Grace A. Saxton in Cuyahoga County on October 29, 1902. Grace was born about 1874 in Akron, Ohio, daughter of Wallace S. and Cornelia Saxton. They had two children: Faye E. (1912) and Billy D. (1920).

In 1930 the Huggards lived at 1637 Franklin Park South. Richard was an insurance agent.

Richard died October 4, 1943 in Columbus.

The Huggards sold the house on September 14, 1922 to Ada M. Mountjoy. W.H. Havens of 1654 Granville Street was witness to the deed.

Carl H. Mountjoy was born December 5, 1885 in Columbus, son of Tallman H. and Jessie Rinney Mountjoy. He married Ada Moling in Franklin County on November 29, 1917. Ada was born about 1881 in Columbus, Ohio, daughter of Joshua T. and Josephine Wright Moling.

In from 1903 to 1907, Mountjoy lived at 1452 Bryden Road and is occupation was musician. In 1908 his occupation changed to draftsman and in 1920 he was a contractor living at 720 Miller Avenue.

In 1920 the Mountjoys lived in Akron, Ohio and Carl was working as a construction contractor. Carl died in Columbus on April 17, 1927, his death certificate lists his occupation as architect. He died from peritonitis, blood poisoning in his right foot from a blister caused by an ill-fitting shoe. In 1930, Ada was living at 79 Latta Avenue in Columbus and was working as a dry goods clerk.

Ada sold the house on November 14, 1928 to Merl D. Weiger.

Merl Dee Weiger was born January 20, 1899 in Allen Township, Hancock County, Ohio, son of Jefferson H. and Ova N. Britton Weiger. He married Marion Elizabeth Brown on February 22, 1924 in Franklin County. Marion was born  June 12, 1902 in Watertown, New York, daughter of D.S. and Clara M. Phillip Brown.. They had a daughter Eugenia M. (1925).

In 1930 the Weigels lived in Bay Village, Ohio and Merl was a sales manager for a building construction company. Merl was Mayor of Bay Village in 1938. In 1940 he was sales manager for a greenhouse.

Merl died in Sonoma, California on March 19, 1967, Marion died there on July 22, 1983.

On June 10, 1929 the property was transferred to Brown & Sons, Inc. They sold it to Florence Price on January 27, 1930 with an outstanding mortgage of $4,500 to The Central Building Loan & Savings Company.

Arthur V. Price, Jr.,
circa 1940
Arthur Virgil Price was born about 1893 in Ohio, son of James H. and Lovina Price. He married Florence Mayme Rose about 1914. Mayme was born about 1895 in Ohio. They had five children: Pauline Agnes (1915), Clarice Louise (1918), Lois G. (1920), Arthur, Jr. (1923) and Lee Calvin (1925).

In 1930 Arthur was working as a wallpaper hanger. In 1933 they lived at 121 East Blake Avenue. In 1940 they were still on Blake. Arthur was working as a car salesman, Mayme was a baker in a pie factory, Clarice was a waitress in a restaurant, Lois was working as a private nurse.

Arthur died in Columbus on December 17, 1960.

On September 16, 1931, Ada Mountjoy who had been living at 79 Latta Avenue bought the house again. It was transferred to The Central Building Loan & Savings Company on June 16, 1932 and the same day they sold it to Warwick I. and Alice B. Rowland.

Warwick Rowland,
circa 1918
Warwick Inman Rowland, Sr. was born October 6, 1891 in Blanchester, Ohio, son of John Henry and Nannie Inman Rowland.

Rowland was an attorney. In 1917 he lived at 79 North Ohio Avenue. In 1918 Warwick applied for a passport to be a clerk in the U.S. Embassy in Rome, Italy.

He married Frances Louise Gwinn in Franklin County on September 20, 1916. Frances was born December 26, 1894 in Huntington, West Virginia, daughter of Othniel E. and Ella Brown Gwinn. She was living at 1816 Franklin Avenue in 1919 when she applied for a passport to join Warwick in Rome.

Othniel Edward Gwinn was President of The Gwinn Milling Company. The book Mostly True: A Memoir of Family, Food, and Baseball by Molly O'Neill (Frances' granddaughter) recounts great stories about the family.
Frances Gwinn Rowland,
circa 1919

The Rowlands are listed in the 1924 City Directory at 1647 Granville Street and Warwick has offices at the Comstock Building. They must have divorced before May 1925 as Frances married William Arthur Moss of Raleigh, North Carolina on May 12, 1925 in Franklin County.

Warwick married Alice G. Bloom on February 14, 1927 in Franklin County. Alice was born November 21,  1898 in Bloomdale, Ohio, daughter of Earl D. and Eleanor Lathrop Bloom. She was a probation officer at the time of their marriage and was divorced from Charles H. Douglass. Alice was the daughter of his Warwick's business partner, Earl Bloom. They had two children, a boy and Eleanor (1928-2011).

Rowland died January 2, 1939 of a skull fracture from an automobile accident on Granville Havens Corners Road, 1-1/2 miles east of Gahanna. Alice died in Sacramento, California on April 15, 1986.

On November 27, 1936 a quitclaim deed was filed between the Rowlands and The Central Building Loan & Savings Company which stipulates that "It is agreed that it is the intention of the grantors and grantee that the mortgage now owned and held on same premises by grantee, not be merged with the legal title thereto; that said mortgage and legal title shall remain separate and distinct.."

The property was sold on October 14, 1938 to M. Lucille Woods.

Mary Lucille Vermilion was born November 23, 1893 in Arabia, Ohio, daughter of Amos and Minnie E. White. She married Harold E. Woods in Clark County on November 11, 1915. Harold was born November 8, 1894 in Waverly, Ohio, son of John Wesley and Ida Davis Woods. They had a son, J. Harold (1923).

At the time of their marriage, Harold was a street railway conductor. They lived in Springfield, Ohio. Harold died May 22, 1922 in Delaware, Ohio. He was working as a N.Y.C. railroad brakeman and fell from a moving freight car and was mangled by the wheels. Lucille was working as a bookkeeper.

In 1930, Lucille and J. Harold were living with Lucille's widowed mother at 1355 Bryden Road. Lucille was working as a secretary in a lawyer's office according to the Census and as a secretary at the Deshler-Wallick hotel according to the City Directory.

The 1940 Census shows a full house at 1499. Lucille, her son Harold, her mother Minnie, two boarders and a nephew, Earl E. Vermillion. Lucille was working as a stenographer at the State Department of Liquor Control and in 1941 she was a calculating machine operator there.

Lucille sold the house on February 4, 1946 to the Burghs.

Paul Leo Burgh was born November 6, 1895 in Jászberény, Hungary to Jewish parents. He married Levinnier "Vivian" Barker who was born December 6, 1904 in Pennsylvania, daughter of George and Rebecca Platts Barker. They had four children, Nancy Ruth (1927), Maurice G. "Punch" (August 6, 1930 - May 15, 2005), Richard J. (1933) and David W. (1936).

Burgh came to the US with his mother and brother, arriving at New York from Bremen on the ship Grosser Kurfurst on July 10, 1907. He became a naturalized citizen in 1909. In the early 1930s the Burghs lived in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and Paul was working as a tobacco salesman. In 1940 they lived in Ingram, Pennsylvania.

In the 1946 City Directory, Paul is listed as manager of the Stone Grill Company.

Stone's Grills were located in many cities throughout Ohio. Stone's had several locations in Columbus, W. Spring Street and 232 S. Fourth Street. The location at 43 N. Pearl Alley and 40 N. High Street was one location with doors on both ends and what may have been Columbus' longest bar. And lest you have any illusions about the grill part, Stone's was much more of a bar than a grill.


This November 25, 1963 Columbus Dispatch photo of Broad and High Streets (looking north)
shows the 40 North High Street/43 North Pearl Alley location of Stone's Grill.
Vivian Burgh died in Pittsburgh in December 1972.

Almost exactly a year later the Burghs had moved back to Pittsburgh and sold the house to the Schafers.

Howard L. Schafer was born May 30, 1913 in Belmont County, Ohio, son of Elmer L. and Jessie H. Lynn Schafer. He married Carolyn I. Morgan in Franklin County on October 27, 1945. Carolyn was born March 4, 1920 in Wellston, Ohio, daughter of David H. and May Campbell Morgan.

Howard had been married once before. On June 2, 1940 in Franklin County, he married Audrey Frost (born about 1913 in Newark, Ohio, daughter of John and Pearl Holligsworth Frost). It appears that marriage ended in divorce.

In 1945 at the time of their marriage, Howard was living at 269 East Gay Street and Carolyn was living at 275 Miller Avenue.

In 1951 the Schafers lived at 672 Wexham Avenue. Howard was a purchasing agent for Columbus Plastic Products.

Howard died in Columbus on March 3, 1981.

The Shafers sold the house on April 23, 1948 to the Allens.

Charles D. Allen, Jr. was born January 10, 1914 in Columbus, son of Charles D. and Charlotte Mitchell Allen. He married Esther Elizabeth Ashby in Franklin County on January 1, 1947. Esther was born June 29, 1914 in Rendville, Ohio, daughter of John B. and Edna O. Chapman Ashby.

At the time of their marriage, John lived at 909 East Gay Street and Esther was living at 84 North 17th Street. The Allens are listed in the 1949 City Directory at 1499 Menlo Place. Charles was a teacher. In 1952 they moved to 234 Sherbourne Drive and Charles was teaching at Champion Junior High School.

Esther died in Columbus on March 3, 2002.

On January 2, 1952 the Whites bought the house. The Whites had been living at 272 North 22nd Street.

Arnett Keith White was born February 13, 1922, son of Arnett C. and Pauline Redman White.
He married Alberta B. They had a son Arnett, Jr. (June 2, 1942-December 26, 2008).

In 1930, Arnett's father was a Vitaphone movie operator and the family lived at 1474 Hildreth Avenue, but in 1920 Arnett's father was an undertaker with his father Norman and they lived at 1217 Mt. Vernon Avenue.

Arnett was a firefighter and had served in the Navy.

The Whites probably divorced in 1957, as the property was transferred solely to Alberta on July 27, 1957. The deed changed again on August 24, 1961 after Alberta married Joseph W. Lyman, Jr.

A Columbus Dispatch headline of August 21, 1967 says, "A major drug investigation results in the arrest of Arnett White, 25, Dorothy Ann Taylor, 19, and Lorenzia L. Wiggins, 30"

Arnett died in Columbus on June 6, 2003.

On October 12, 1995, Kenneth D. Tyson bought the house. Tyson was born August 22, 1970. In 1997 he lived at 1634 Granville Street.

The house underwent major renovations in 2012 including new windows, plumbing, electrical and siding.

Tuesday, October 9, 2012

1536 Menlo Place - Connors House

1536 Menlo Place
Parts of Lots 8 and 9 of Joel McCarty's Subdivision.

Elizabeth S. Howell purchased this property from Joel McCarty for $1,000 on January 5, 1909. W.W. McNeille witnessed the transfer.

Howell sold the property to John Connors on September 28, 1909 for $5,500.

The Connors House was designed by architects Howell and Thomas. It was built in 1910.(Columbus Dispatch, March 13, 1910, p.13)

Howell & Thomas was an architectural partnership formed by Carl Eugene Howell and James William Thomas, Sr. in Columbus, Ohio and later Cleveland, Ohio, that designed many residences for wealthy clients between 1908 and 1930. The partners were classmates at University of Pennsylvania and first established their practice in Columbus. They also designed the Broad Street Apartments, 880-886 East Broad Street.

John L. Connors, circa 1905
John Leo Anthony Connors was born March 15, 1882 in Evansville, Indiana, son of Maurice Supple and Mary Ellen Kane Connors. He married Hortense Emilie Filton on October 16, 1907 in Marion County, Indiana. Hortense was born July 3, 1882 in New Harmony, Indiana, daughter of Frank Owen and Emilie Margaret Ryberre Filton. They had three daughters: Virginia Hortense (January 16, 1909-1984), Juliet M. (1911) and Rosemary E. (1915).

In 1900 Connors father, Maurice, was General Superintendent of the Hocking Valley Railway Company and the Connors lived at 1109 Franklin Avenue in Columbus.

A paragraph in the Iron Trade Review of September 9, 1909 states that "F.E. Symons has been appointed western sales manager of the Ralston Steel Car Co., succeeding J.L. Connors, who has been transferred to the Columbus office." Connors was Sales Manager for Ralston.

The 1910 Census shows the Connors living in their new home. They have a servant, Wilde Costello, a 20-year-old West Virginia native.

In October 1915 the Connors moved to 125 Parkwood Avenue. They had a servant, Malinda Cunningham, a 20-year-old African-American from Alabama. As early as 1912 Connors sold railway and industrial supplies. The company offices were on the 8th floor of 8 East Broad Street. 

Hortense died in Winnetka, Illinois on September 14, 1922 of uterine cancer.

Connors married Genevieve Burnham about 1924. Genevieve was born October 25, 1891 in Chicago, Illinois, daughter of Edward Burnham. Genevieve was a graduate of Smith College. She died in Mansfield on July 11, 1949 and  is buried at the family mausoleum at St. Joseph's Cemetery in Columbus.

In 1929 the Connors lived at 73 Parkwood Avenue. In 1929 and 1930 John was Assistant General Manager of The Jeffrey Manufacturing Company. The 1930 Census lists their residence as the Garden Apartments on East Broad Street, though the 1930 City Directory shows them at 104 Virginia Lee Road, a home they occupied through 1935.

In 1942 the Connors lived in Mansfield, Ohio and John was associated with the Galion Iron Works and Manufacturing Company.

John's obituary from the St. Petersburg Times, March 4, 1954, "John Leo Connors, retired vice president and general manager of the Galion Iron Works and Manufacturing Co., Galion, Ohio, died yesterday afternoon at his home, 8200 Boca Ciega Drive, Gulf Beaches.

"Mr. Connors would have been 72 (on) March 15. He was born in Evansville, Ind. and moved to St. Petersburg two years ago from Hartford, Conn.

"He was graduated from Purdue University in 1905 with a degree in chemical engineering. For six years he was assistant to the president of Ralston Steel Co., Columbus, Ohio, and then entered the business for himself as president of the John L. Connors, Inc.

"Later he moved to Chicago as president of the Morgan Gardner Electric Co., from 1919 to 1929 and then became associated with the Galion Iron Works and Manufacturing Co. He retired in 1950.

"Mr. Connors was a member of the University of Chicago Club and St. John's Catholic Church, St. Petersburg Beach.

"Surviving are his widow, Barbara Connors; three daughters, Mrs. Virginia Connors (William Norris) Seery, Hartford; Mrs. Juliet Connors (Joseph Egan) Ryan, Columbus, Ohio, and Sister Angela Marie, Dominican Order, Pittsburgh, and four sisters, Miss Mildred Connors, Mrs. Gertrude Drugan, Miss Martha Connors and Mrs. Agatha Murphy, all of Columbus and eight grandchildren."

John Hislop, circa 1920
The Connors sold the house on October 27, 1915 to J. H. Hislop.

John Hughes Hislop was born in Columbus on October 10, 1883, son of Herbert R. and Catherine Hughes Hislop. He married Cathrine Gertrude Crawford at Broad Street Presbyterian Church on June 17, 1916. The wedding reception was held at the Crawford home 995 East Broad Street. Cathrine was born April 30, 1893 in DuBois, Pennsylvania, daughter of Frederick Wilson and Elizabeth Dreibelbis Crawford.

Hislop was a dealer in real estate. He is listed in the 1918 City Directory as living at 1536 Menlo Place. His father Herbert is also in real estate and is living at 55 Woodland Avenue.

Hislop and his wife traveled to England and France, departing on the Adriatic on September 17, 1920. John was to settle an estate he inherited in England and then they were traveling to France for a vacation. The Adriatic was the largest and most luxurious of the "Big Four" of the White Star Line. Hislop's neighbor F. L. Hughes of 1571 Hawthorne vouched for him on his passport application.

Cathrine Hislop, circa 1920
Hislop served on the Dennison University Board of Trustees and at one time owned the Bryn Maur estate in Newark, Ohio. Cathrine's father Frederick W. Crawford was one of the original incorporators of the Ohio Fuel Gas Co.

In 1927 the Hislops are living at 411 North Parkview in Bexley, with John's father Herbert.

On March 10, 1926, Arthur M. and Mary W. Crumrine bought the house.

Arthur Milton Crumrine was born January 29, 1886 in Madison, Wisconsin, son of Arthur Irving and Frances Marie Conahan Crumrine. He married Mary S. Weinland in Columbus on November 18, 1916. Mary was born May 21, 1884 in Westerville, Ohio, daughter of Jacob A and Margaret E. Shaw Weinland. They had one son, Arthur, Jr. (1925).

On their marriage license application, Arthur's occupation is listed as newspaper writer. Crumrine is listed in the 1924 City Directory as president of The Arthur M. Crumrine Co. (advertising agents) and The Amsco Realty Company.

Mary and Arthur divorced at some time before 1940 and Mary and their son Arthur, Jr. moved to 100 West Park Avenue in Westerville. Mary was a librarian at Otterbein College. Mary died in April 1959 and is buried at Otterbein Cemetery.

Sometime after 1942, Arthur married Ann Raymer who worked as a stenographer (Diehl Office Equipment Co., 1923) and secretary. Starting in 1935 she worked and lived at the Franklin County Sanatorium as a patient helper.

Crumrine lived at 214 Oak Street in 1948. He incorporated Arthur Crumrine & Co., Inc. on December 6, 1948. In 1951 he was proprietor of F.P. Orr Company.

Crumrine died at home at 213 Oak Street of colon cancer on March 16, 1951. He is buried at St. Joseph's Cemetery.

The Crumrines lost the house due to a foreclosure judgement in the amount of $7,900.19 in favor of the Buckeye State Building and Loan Company. The property was sold on September 7, 1928 to John P. King for $8,600.00 and a Sheriff''s Deed was issued.

John P. King sold the house on April 2, 1929 to Frederick A. Schlens.

Frederick A. Schlens was born in Maryland about 1903. He married Mary C. Mary was born in Pennsylvania July 2, 1902. They had three children: Mary C. (born 1926 in West Virginia), Lee Ann (1928) and Frederick (1931).

Fred was an agent for passenger bus lines. In 1929 he worked for a company called Colonial Stages, which later became Interstate Transit, Inc. and then Colonial Atlantic-Pacific Stages (CAPS). Colonial Stages had offices at 39-41 East Rich Street in 1931. This company went out of business in the Great Depression. Fred then went to work for another bus line, Red Star Way, Inc.

In 1935 the Schlens lived in West Virginia. In 1940 they were living in Baltimore, Maryland.

Frederick and Mary died in Volusia County, Florida. Fred in April 1967 and Mary on March 8, 1970.

The Schlens sold the house back to King on April 13, 1931 and they moved to 801 Fairwood Avenue.

Dana J. Demorest, circa 1944
King sold the house on September 12, 1932 to Professor Dana J. Demorest.

Dana James Demorest was born August 24, 1882 in Marysville, Ohio, son of Louis B. Demorest.
He married Margaret Wiltsee on June 21, 1908. They had a daughter Margaret Frances (August 5, 1913).

Dana's father Louis was a school teacher and was Superintendent of Marysville City Schools for twenty-five years, from about 1900 to 1925.

Radio Digest, February 6, 1926
Demorest was graduated from OhioState University in chemical engineering in 1907. He became a chemist for the U.S. Bureau of Mines; then for the Union Pacific Railroad. In 1908 he became assistant professor of metallurgy at Ohio State University and strating in 1913 has been professor of metallurgy there. In WWI he was commanding officer, Toxic Gas Plant, Edgewood Arsenal.

Margaret died August 7, 1913, probably from complications of childbirth.

Demorest died in Columbus on June 30, 1958.

April 13, 1945 James F. and Martha M. Hunter

James Franklin Hunter was born about 1904 in Pennsylvania, son of Harry H. and Inez Hunter. He married Martha M. between 1930 and 1940. Martha was born about 1908 in Pennsylvania.

The 1940 Census for Meadville, Pennsylvania shows James and Martha living with James' mother Inez. James is working as a traveling insurance salesman. (James' father had also been an insurance salesman).

In 1946 Hunter was an insurance agent for the New Amsterdam Casualty Company.

On May 22, 1948 the Jenkins bought the house from the Hunters.

Carl G. Jenkins was born about January 2, 1888 in London, Ohio, son of William Paul and Mamie E. Brown Jenkins. He married Hazel G.Braulette in Greene County on October 8, 1914. Hazel was born about September 17, 1893 in Jamestown, Ohio, daughter or Walter and Lucy Brock Braulette. They had two sons: Carl S. (1916) and Marion B. (1919).

Jenkins graduated from Wilberforce University Commercial Department in 1908. He attended Bryant and Stratton Business College 1909-10. He was Secretary to the President of Wilberforce from 1910-1917 and Secretary starting in 1917. A 1922 biographical sketch in the 1922 Wilberforce University annual says, "Mr. Jenkins is a man of singular courage and ability; a friend, worthy to be trusted; and is well liked by all the students. He has helped many worthy students finish school, and has endeared himself into the hearts of a great number."

In 1924 the Jenkins lived at 180 North 20th Street. Carl was working as a special statistician in the Ohio Secretary of State's office. In 1930 the Jenkins lived in Wilberforce, where Carl was the business manager at the University.

Carl C. Jenkins, circa 1922
A front page story in the Indianapolis Recorder of May 19, 1934 is headlined "Students In Riot At Wilberforce -Wilberforce Scene of Riot; Trustees Arouse Students" the article reports that Carl Jenkins, business manager of state departments was appointed acting superintendent. The students said that Jenkins was ill-equipped to hold up the standards set by his predecessor, Professor Howard Gregg.

A building at Central State University is named for Jenkins. The Central State website says, "Jenkins Technology Education Building Named in memory of Carl C. Jenkins, who served as superintendent of the Combined Normal and Industrial Department, Jenkins Hall houses the Department of Manufacturing and Industrial Engineering. An earlier building constructed in 1941 was also named for Jenkins. It housed the Physical Education Department, Army ROTC, and the College Bookstore and Grill. At the time of its destruction in 1974, the original Jenkins Hall housed the audio-visual department, the campus radio station, the bookstore, and office of the CSU Federal Credit Union."

Carl S. Jenkins
An undated newspaper clipping about the Jenkins' son, Carl S. says, "First Liet. Jenkins Carl S. Jenkins, who recently spent a few days visiting his parents, Superintendent and Mrs Carl C. Jenkins here, is en route to Fort Huachuca, Ariz. for further assignment. A graduate of Wilberforce university in 1937, Lieutenant Jenkins studied at Howard university, is a graduate of Meharry Medical school, and formerly interned the Homer G Phillips hospital, St. Louis Mo. He was inducted into the Army in September, 1943, and assigned to Carlisle Barracks, Pa., where he received basic training. He was later sent to to Fort Huachuca, and on May 1, 1944, to Walter Reed Government hospital, where he received special training in tropical diseases. Mrs. Jenkins, the former Helen Mathis, is a graduate of Tennessee State college. A native of Greenville, Ky., she is accompanying her husband to Arizona."

The Jenkins returned to Columbus from Wilberforce in late 1948, purchasing this house. In 1954 the Jenkins lived at 2074 Greenway Avenue N.

On October 2, 1953 the Jenkins sold the house to the Coopers.

Earl Clifton Cooper was born December 31, 1891 in Albany, Ohio, son of James C. and Angie Flowers Cooper. Earl married Ida Mae Smith in Athens County on September 19, 1911. Ida was born February 19, 1891 in Athens, daughter of James and Julia Logan Smith. They had a daughter, Earline May (April 27, 1912-February 23, 1997).

In 1917 the Coopers lived at 1504 Harvard Avenue and Earl worked as a chauffeur for Louis P. Hoster. Hoster lived at 253 Woodland Avenue.

By 1920 the Coopers had returned to Athens where Earl was a chauffeur for a private family.

Earl won a $1.00 prize in a March 1926 contest in Popular Mechanics magazine. The listing in the May 1926 issue of the magazine says, "Earl C. Cooper, Athens, Ohio (American Technical Society)". The American Technical Society published materials for the American School of Correspondence, now ATP, which published vocational-type training materials.

An unidentified newspaper article from March 28, 1928 says, The Athens County "Music Club held their meeting at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Earl Cooper, 33 Park Place. The Music Club was for the advancement of the members' musical abilities and to study the lives of great musicians. Mrs. Earl Cooper, President."

A story from the Multicultural Genealogical Center, "A Significant Presence" states that Ida Mae was the daughter of James an Julia Qualls Smith. She graduated from Athens High School and attended Ohio University. She was the organist at Mt. Zion Baptist Church for 50 years. Her husband was Dr. Biddle's chauffeur and Ida was their cook and housekeeper. They lived at one time in the Biddle's carriage house.

29 Park Place, Athens, Ohio. Currently the home of the President of Ohio University. The house was built in 1899 for C.L. Poston, a wealthy coal mine owner and business executive. During the early 1920's the mansion became the home of Dr. and Mrs. Thomas Biddle. (Mrs. Biddle was the daughter of C.L. Poston.) 
In 1930 and 1940 the Coopers lived in Athens, Ohio where Earl was working as a chauffeur and butler and Ida was a maid for Dr. Thomas R. Biddle, a corporate official of a coal company who lived at 29 Park Place. In 1930 the Coopers lived at 33 Park Place and in 1940 they lived at 29-1/2 Park Place.

Earl and Ida both died in Athens, Ida on June 16, 1964 and Earl on October 12, 1966.

Earline married Alvin William Tolbert. Alvin was born July 5, 1909 in Ohio, son of William and Nina Tolbert. They had two daughters, Patricia (1938) and Phyllis Jean (1939).

In 1940 Earline and Alvin were living with Alvin's parents at 368 St. Clair Avenue. Alvin was listed as a decorator, working in retail flooring. In 1949 they lived at 534 Mt. Vernon Avenue and Alvin was a janitor at the State Department Building. In 1953 they still lived at 534 Mt. Vernon Avenue and in both 1953 and 1954 Alvin is working at a porter at Columbus Die Tool & Machine. The 1954 and 1957 City Directory shows their home address at 1536 Menlo Place. In 1959 they lived at 1516 Bryden Road and Alvin was employed at the same place. Alvin died August 26, 1975 in Columbus.

On November 30, 1955 the Coopers sold the house to Charles C. and Dorothy T. Wilson.

Dorothy T. Wilson was born September 30, 1927. The 1953 and 1954 City Directories shows the Wilsons living at 841 Clay Court. Charles is employed by North American Aviation.

R. Hogans,
Central High School 1954.
On September 27, 1967, Roger E. and Gloria B. Hogans bought the house.

Roger Hogans was born October 28, 1937 in Ohio, son of Samuel Hogans.

Gloria Stene Bowen Hogans was born April 26, 1933 in Mississippi  She died in Columbus on October 16, 1993. (mother's maiden Moore) She was a schoolteacher.

On July 19, 1984 the house was transferred solely to Gloria. In February 2001 the property was divided among her heirs/children: Altrece M., Terryl K., and Roderick L. Hogans.

1577 Greenway Avenue - Behmer House

1577 Greenway Avenue in 2010
Lot 69 of Smith's Woodland Park Addition

Lot 69 was purchased by The City Realty Company from the Smiths before 1904. City Realty sold the lot to S. Optimus Holder in 1907.

Samuel Optimus Holder was born October 18, 1882 in Harrison, Tennessee (or October 8, 1882 in Chatanooga), son of John F. and Elizabeth Parham Holder. He married Adelaide "Addie" Behmer on March 13, 1904 in Franklin County. Adelaide was born May 12, 1883 in Shepard, Ohio, daughter of John Frederick and Mary Emily Chandler Behmer.

In the 1906 City Directory, Samuel is listed as a salesman. The Holders are living at 383 Oakland Avenue. In 1907 they are living at 285 Taylor Avenue. In 1908 Samuel is a manager of Columbus Buckeye Tool and Supply Company. The March 11, 1909 issue of The Iron Age (a hardware trade publication) reports, "A new supply company for Columbus, Ohio, is the Holder & Latham Supply Company, which has offices in the McCune Building, that city. A complete line of contractors' and manufacturers' supplies will be handled. The organizers of the company are S.O. Holder and Alva Latham, who were formerly manager and salesman, respectively, for Columbus Buckeye Tool & Supply Company." The McCune Block was located at 51 North High Street, the headquarters of McCune, Lonnis & Griswold, hardware merchants. It was demolished in 1915. Jonas McCune had a very large mansion at 120 Woodland Avenue.

The Holders later lived at 162 and then 42 South Burgess Avenue. Samuel died February 19, 1968 in Upper Arlington. Adelaide died at age 99 on February 15, 1982.

The Holders sold the lot to Adelaide's father, John Behmer in 1908.

John Frederick Behmer was born September 27, 1859 in Edinburgh, Scotland, son of Frank and Jessie Thomas(Thompson) Behmer. He married Mary Emily Chandler June 15, 1882. Mary was born July 20, 1860 in Groveport, Ohio, daughter of William and Adelaide Eliza Price/Bruce Chandler. They had six children: Adelaide L. (May 12, 1883), Frederick A. (June 19, 1885-November 1972), William Byron (August 7, 1889-March 16, 1891), Charles C. (1892-March 1, 1982), Helen Louise (November 11, 1893), John Chandler (January 8, 1897-February 27, 1935).

Behmer emigrated to the US about 1864. John is listed in the 1891-2 City Directories as a contractor. In 1891 he is on Gibbard Avenue, east of Cleveland Avenue. 1892 is more specific, on the south side of Gibbard, two houses east of Ninth Avenue. John F. Behmer is listed in the 1900-1913 City Directories as a carpenter. His death certificate lists his occupation as retired contracting carpenter with his specific industry being brick work. He lived near Cumberland and Sylvia Roads, this home does not seem to have been numbered until 1913 when it was listed as 679 Cumberland.

Behmer was more than likely the builder of this brick house  between 1908 and 1912, and while Behmer probably never lived in it, his family ties to the property are indisputable. His daughter Helen did later live in the house for 28 years.

Mary died September 1, 1919. John married three more times after the death of Mary.

On June 19, 1920 he married the widow Nellie Monkhouse. Nellie was born September 6, 1851 in Zanesville, Ohio, daughter of William Lee. Her mother's maiden name was Drumm.

On June 4, 1922 he married the divorced Sarah (nee Grant) Needles. Sarah had been living at 150 S. Princeton Avenue. She was born in Perry County, Ohio on February 11, 1889. He was 62 and she was 33 years old.

On May 29, 1929 he married the widow Permelia Leonhart Hawxhurst. Permelia was born March 2, 1867 in Muskingum County, Ohio, daughter of Frederick and Martha Austin Leonhart. She was living at 199-1/2 Kelton Avenue. On this marriage certificate Permelia's occupation is listed as a nurse.

The 1931 City Directory shows the Behmers living at 395 South Champion Avenue with John working at his own shoe repair business at 366 South Champion.

John's son, John Chandler Behmer was a farmer. He took his own life and hung himself on February 27, 1935 on a hill at the back of his home in Laurelville, Hocking County. It was believed that ill health was the reason.

Frederick A. Behmer was an early Grandview Heights resident and local photographer. The Grandview Heights Marble Cliff Historical Society website says, "Fred A. Behmer started working as a photographer in 1901 when he was 16 years old, working for Baker Art Gallery and later the Columbus Star, a weekly tabloid published by the Wolfe family. His famous work includes photos of Company B of the Ohio National Guard deployed at Camp Willis in what is now Upper Arlington. For over fifty years, Behmer was the staff photographer for Jeffery Manufacturing charged with documenting the company's activities and the service of Jeffrey employees. Behmer was the first photographer to record OSU football away games for publication in the next morning's paper. According to his granddaughter Pat Behmer Preble, he dried the photo plates on a potbelly stove on the return train trip from the game so that they would be ready for the newspaper."

Fred Behmer (left) and an unidentified friend dressed for the annual Grandview Heights Field Day celebration in 1916.


John died at home on April 18, 1938 at his home on South Champion Avenue. He is buried at Greenlawn Cemetery.

The Behmers sold the property October 16, 1912 to John M. Marshall.

John Mitchell Marshall was born April 10, 1868 in Darby Township, Pickaway County, Ohio, son of Edwin M. and Catherine Burchnell Marshall. Marshall had also been a carpenter, and probably was an associate of Behmer at one time. both had worked as car builders. Marshall lived at 223 North 20th Street in 1909 and 362 Wilson Avenue in 1914 and 1915. During this time he was a partner at Marshall Brothers, a real estate and rental firm. Marshall died January 31, 1935 at his home in Bexley.

Marshall sold the property to the Levans in 1913.

Harry Joseph Levans was born May 22, 1880 in Cincinnati, Ohio, son of Joseph and Jennie Bryant Levans. He married Carrie M. Kroninger on April 6, 1904 in Franklin County. Carrie was born March 14, 1882 in Shepard, Ohio, daughter of George and Elizabeth Boanmiller Kroninger.

In the 1920 Census the Levans are living at 1577 and Harry is a steam railroad conductor. The 1921 report of the Interstate Commerce Commission shows that Harry was paid $3,000 for 9 months and 16 days of work as an inspector.

Before 1930 the Levans moved to Dayton, Ohio where they stayed at least through the 1940s. In 1942 Harry was working for the Interstate Commerce Commission. At the time of his death in 1966, Harry and Carrie were living in Logan, Ohio.

Harry died September 9, 1966 in Columbus. Carrie died in Gahanna on January 15, 1971.

On January 3, 1921 the Levans sold the property to Helen Louise Anderson, daughter of the builder, John F. Behmer.

Dr. Carl A. Anderson was born in Columbus on October 11, 1892, son of Swedish parents, August and Mary Anna Boyer Anderson. He married Helen Louise Behmer in Franklin County on September 21, 1916. Helen was born November 11, 1893 in Columbus, daughter of John Franklin and Mary Emily Chandler Behmer.

In the 1920 Census, the Andersons are living at 1413 Hildreth Avenue and the widowed John Behmer is living with them. Anderson is a dentist.

Helen died in Hamilton, Ohio on April 6, 1987.

Anderson sold the house to the Kings on April 30, 1949. The Kings were the first African-American owners of the house.

Roy B. King was born in Kentucky in 1924, son of James and Octavia King. He married Lillian before 1953.

The 1940 Census shows Roy living with his parents in Berea, Kentucky.

The Kings are listed in the 1953 City Directory at 1577. Roy's occupation is listed as USA, which means he was probably in the military.

The Kings have been hard to trace, but they might be the Roy and Lillian Price King who died in Los Angeles, both in 2009. The 1963 sale deed lists their residence as California. This Roy did three stints in the Army (1945-46, 1947-48, and 1949-1953). Perhaps Roy was stationed at Fort Hayes, as their purchase of the house coincides with his enlistment. This Roy was born June 18, 1923 and he died in Los Angeles on December 9, 2009. Lillian was born January 28, 1922 and died in Los Angeles on April 26, 2009.

The Kings sold the house on October 22, 1963 to Bennett Dickerson.

Dickerson was a real estate agent and furniture dealer. Dickerson sold the house a month later, on November 27, 1963 to the Hardens.

Fred Harden was born about February 28, 1897 in Georgia. He married Essie Mae who was born about 1899 in Georgia.

F.E. Avery's Packard Service Station
at 1199 Franklin Avenue.
In 1945 the Hardens were boarders at 1446 Mt. Vernon Avenue. Fred was working as a driver. In 1953 the Hardens lived at 523 Trevitt. Fred was working for the F. E Avery Co. In 1953 Fred was a lot attendant and in 1954 he was a porter.

Frank Elmer Avery owned an automobile dealership and service station located on Franklin Avenue. His shop was the first commercial auto repair garage in the United States - opened in 1899. It later became Avery Pontiac and was purchased by Dave Gill in 1982.

The Model A was the first car manufactured by Ford after the establishment of the company in 1903. The 31st car to drive out of Henry Ford's new factory in 1903 was a 2-cylinder, 2-seater car simply called The Ford, and later to be called the Model A. It was delivered on August 4, 1903 to Mr F. E. Avery of Columbus, Ohio just 160 miles from Detroit, Michigan.

Fred died July 17, 1973. Essie died May 26, 1975 in Columbus.

Essie sold the house on July 19, 1974 to Julia Mae Garrett and Emma L. Lucas who lived at 2101 Woodward Avenue.

Julia Mae Garrett was born about 1927. She married Hayman Jamal Garrett on December 29, 1991 in Franklin County. Hayman was born June 6, 1930. He served in the Air Force from 1946 to 1971. Hayman died on December 3, 2000 in Lafayette, Louisiana.

Emma L. Lucas was born May 27, 1921 in Wilmington, Ohio, daughter of William Henry and Rowena Frisco Lucas. She died on April 15, 1992 and left her half interest in this and several other properties to Julia.

The property was transferred to Julia's name solely on April 28, 1992 and her address at that time was  1113 Lilley Avenue. Julia sold the house to Elizabeth Freeman on May 10, 1993 and on that deed the signatures of Julia and Hayman were notarized in Louisiana.

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

263 Woodland Avenue - Mary Denmead House

263 Woodland Avenue, March 2010
Lot 10 of Watson and Ryan's subdivision and part of lots 16 and part of 17 of Nelson's Heirs subdivision.

Mary S. Denmead purchased this property on January 21, 1905 from a relative on the maternal side of her family, William Franklin.

Edward Denmead was born April 24, 1840 in Baltimore, Maryland, son of Thomas and Caroline Brown Denmead. He married Mary Scott Dun on November 18, 1880. Mary was born December 1, 1852 in Ohio, daughter of Robert George and Ann Love Franklin Dun. They had two sons, Edward Graham born August 6, 1881 and Walter Angus (November 23, 1887-April 4, 1917). Another son was stillborn on April 11, 1896.

From Brick (a trade magazine), September 1901
Edward Denmead was a director for the Columbus Evening Post, Democratic which began December 4, 1888. He also was one of the first people to buy tracts of land and lay out the area that would become Grandview Heights in the Columbus area. Denmead was also President and Treasurer of the American Art Tile Company and Director of Accounts for the City of Columbus. About 1889-90, Denmead was Manager of the Columbus Transfer Company.

Edward Denmead House, 153 Woodland Avenue, circa 1898.
Built 1890, Frank Packard, Architect.
The Denmeads first home on Woodland Avenue was at 153, then they moved to 253 and lastly 263. Other members of the family lived at 115 Woodland Avenue. 253 Woodland Avenue was later owned by Louis Phillip Hoster and the original house on the property was demolished in 1921 and replaced with a Tudor style residence.

In the 1903 City Directory, Mary and her son, Edward G. "Graham" are listed at 253 Woodland Avenue. Graham's WWI Draft Registration card from September 1918 lists his address as West Liberty, Logan County, Ohio and his next of kin is his mother Mary, living at 263 Woodland Avenue.

An obituary in the May 1917, Ohio State University Monthly, "Walter Angus Denmead, Eng., '10, died Easter Sunday, April 8th, in Schenectady, N.Y., from pernicious anaemia, after an illness of one month. He leaves behind a wife and one child, a son about a year old. He was connected with the General Electric Company at Schenectady.

Mr. Denmead was a descendant of two prominent old Columbus families, the Duns and Denmeads, and his funeral was held from the family residence, 115 Woodland Ave., Columbus, April 11th. Interment at Greenlawn Cemetery. He was a brother of Graham Denmead and a member of Phi Delta Theta."

Robert Graham
Denmead, 

circa 1930
On Graham's WWII Draft Registration card his next of kin is listed as R.G. Denmead, 115 Woodland Avenue. Robert Graham Denmead (1908) was Graham's son. He graduated from the Ohio State University with a degree in Engineering/Architecture. Robert later went on to be a Realtor, owned his own firm, R.G. Denmead & Company and served as President of the Columbus Board of Realtors in 1953.

The Denmeads are buried at Greenlawn Cemetery. Edward died on July 20, 1901, Mary died March 22, 1944, Graham died on November 27, 1951.

Graham sold the house on October 13, 1944 to Clarence and Ruth A. Caplinger.

Clarence A. Caplinger was born March 14, 1898 in Adams County, Ohio, son of Landon and Sarah Hughey Caplinger. He married Ruth A. Courtney in Adams County on April 10, 1917. Ruth was born November 13, 1899 in Adams County, daughter of Simon and Addie Shoemaker Courtney. They had five children: Berlin A. (1919), Arlan L. (1921), Virginia A. (1922), Kathleen L. (1924) and Carlson (1925).

In 1930 the Caplingers lived in Seaman, Adams County. Clarence was working as a laborer on the steam railroad. As early as 1938 the Caplingers lived at 522 Woodland Avenue. In Columbus Clarence worked as a bricklayer and railroad timekeeper. In 1940 Ruth was a clerk in a grocery store.

A little over a year after buying the house, the Caplingers sold it on December 13, 1945 to Myrtle J. Clark.

William Luther Clark was born about 1890 in Indiana. He married Myrtle Johnson on September 1, 1918. Myrtle was born October 8, 1895 in Georgia, daughter of Elisha Edward and Malissa Stephens Johnson. They had two children, Charles Kermit (April 17, 1919-December 25, 1943) and Mary Virginia (1922).
In 1940, William Clark worked as a cook at the Goodale Hotel. This postcard shows the northwest corner of High  and Goodale Streets, showing the Northern Hotel on the corner and down the street on Goodale is the U.C.T. or the United Commercial Travelers building. The Northern Hotel opened December 1, 1878 as the Great Park Hotel and was demolished on January 1, 1957. A section of this facility was also known as the Goodale Hotel.
In 1930 the Clarks lived at 607 Oak Street, which they rented for $50/month. William was working as a chef in a restaurant. They had two boarders and Myrtle's younger sister lived with them.

Mary Virginia Clark married Frank Louis Neuhauser in Washington, DC on February 3, 1945.

On October 13, 1950 Lawrence and Ruth L. Mulligan purchased the house and were it's first African-American owners.

Laurence Mulligan was born about 1913 in Georgia, son of Alfred Edgar and Lena Mulligan. He married Ruth. Ruth was born about 1913.

1417 East Long Street
Lawrence appears in the 1920 and 1930 Census in Fort Gaines, Clay County, Georgia. By 1940 he is living in Columbus at 1417 East Long Street with his uncle, Berry McDonald. Lawrence is working as a bartender at a private club.

The Mulligans lived for a short time at 175 N. 20th Avenue before purchasing the house on Woodland Avenue. They sold their house at 1563 Clifton Avenue on October 4, 1950.

December 19, 1980 Lawrence Mulligan

Ruth died in Columbus on December 18, 1978 and Lawrence died on April 6, 1985.

On February 7, 1986, the property was transferred to Lawrence's heir, Alfred Mulligan of Newark, New Jersey. I believe this was his brother, Alfred Edgar Mulligan, Jr. On April 23, 1987 Alfred transferred the property to his son, Marcine Mulligan.

On July 6, 1993 the property was acquired by Working Capital, Inc.